Unlimited Wordpress themes, plugins, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. Navigation Design
Webdesign

اتباع نهج مرن للملاحة استجابة

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Tazkiyah (you can also view the original English article)

توفر العديد من مواقع الويب المتجاوبة شريط تنقل أفقيًا على الشاشات الكبيرة والملاحة المنسدلة لمربعات العرض الأصغر. إنه نهج لائق تمامًا ، لكنه لا يخلو من مشكلاته. أولاً ، لا تأتي الأجهزة فقط كبيرة وصغيرة ؛ يأتون بكل حجم يمكن تخيله. ثانيًا ، قد يتغير نظام الملاحة جيدًا بمرور الوقت. ثالثًا ، قد يختلف التنسيق أو حجم الخط عبر أحجام الشاشات. سنفعل الأشياء بشكل مختلف ...

لماذا لا تحقق (مع جافا سكريبت) لمعرفة كم من أعمالنا الملاحة تناسبها فعلا في المساحة المتوفرة؟ بمجرد أننا نعرف ذلك، يمكننا أن العناصر التي لا تدخل ضمن شريط التنقل ونقلها إلى قائمة منسدلة. على الشاشات الصغيرة خاصة، يمكننا أن نختار لوضع القائمة بأكملها القائمة منسدلة.


يصلح الملاحة؟

أي نوع من التنقل يعمل بشكل أفضل؟ تعتمد الإجابة على هذا السؤال على عدة عوامل ، بما في ذلك حجم الشاشة وحجم الخط وأسرة الخطوط وعدد عناصر التنقل والسياق الذي يظهر فيه التنقل. تتفاعل هذه العوامل مع بعضها البعض ، ويمكن أن تتغير جميعها.

وبدلاً من النظر في كل واحد من هذه العوامل، سوف نبحث ببساطة في النتيجة النهائية: هل جميع عناصر التنقل تناسب في صف واحد أنيق، أو القيام ببعض الحصول على الضغط لأسفل إلى السطر التالي؟ إذا كان هذا الأخير، تناسب عدد العناصر؟ المسلحة مع هذه المعلومات، يمكننا أن نختار شريط التنقل الأيمن للحصول على الوظيفة.


الخطوة 1: اختيار نقاط التوقف

تصميم متجاوب له ميزتان رئيسيتان. أولاً ، يجب أن يكون التصميم سائلاً: حيث يتغير عرضه مع عرض المتصفح. ثانيًا ، توجد نقاط عرض ، أي عروض يتغير فيها التصميم من خلال استخدام استعلامات وسائط CSS. على سبيل المثال ، قد تقرر أنه عندما لا يتجاوز حجم المتصفح 480 بكسل ، سينتقل الشريط الجانبي إلى أسفل المحتوى وستصبح العناوين أصغر. يمكنك الحصول على عدد كبير أو قليل من نقاط التوقف كما تريد.

Screenshots of Twitter Bootstrap at desktop and mobile breakpoints

يمكنك إنشاء نقطة توقف باستخدام استعلام وسائط الإعلام، مثل هذا:

إذن ، كيف نختار اختيار نقاط التوقف؟ يتمثل أحد الأساليب في اختيار بعض العروض التي تتوافق مع أحجام الأجهزة الشائعة.

وقد التغريد Bootstrap عدة نقاط التوقف، بما في ذلك نقطة توقف "الهاتف ذكي" الذي يتم تشغيله على زوايا أوسع لا 480px. كما أنها نقطة توقف "صورة أقراص" التي يتم تشغيلها بين 768px و 979px.

قد تلاحظ أنه لا يوجد نقطة توقف "لوح المناظر الطبيعية" في Bootstrap. ذلك لأن جهاز iPad يبلغ عرضه 1024 بكسل في المشهد - وهو نفس عرض العديد من شاشات سطح المكتب. وهذا يقودنا إلى العيب الرئيسي في هذا النهج: فهو يتضمن إجراء تخمينات علمية حول أنواع الأجهزة. قد يكون الجهاز الذي يضرب "قرصنا الرأسي" في الواقع هاتفًا كبيرًا جدًا أو جهاز كمبيوتر محمولًا صغيرًا حقًا.

استفسارات وسائط الإعلام لا يقول لنا ما هو نوع الجهاز قيد الاستخدام، ولكن يمكننا أن نجعل تكهنا استناداً إلى حجم الجهاز.

نهج بديل سيكون لإسناد نقاط التوقف عن التصميم والمحتوى. ويمكن تنفيذ إصدار السوائل من التصميم الخاص بك مع لا نقاط التوقف، وثم اختباره في عروض مختلفة. عندما تواجه الأعراض حيث تبدأ الأمور تبدو غريبة، وقت المناسب للنظر في إضافة نقطة توقف. هذا هو النهج الذي يفضلها ماركوت إيثان، الذي صاغ مصطلح "تصميم استجابة".

Screenshot of the Boston Globe at three different widths

النهج الذي هو أفضل؟ كما هو الحال مع الكثير من الأشياء في الحياة، فإنه يعتمد. هل تستخدم إطارا بنيت قبل مثل Bootstrap؟ هل تعتقد أنه سوف يكون من الأسهل لشرح تصميم استجابة للفريق الخاص بك أو للعملاء إذا يمكنك التحدث عن أنواع محددة من الأجهزة؟ وإذا كانت الإجابة "نعم"، قد يكون لك الحق اختيار نقاط التوقف استناداً إلى حجم الجهاز. وإذا كانت الإجابة "لا"، اختيار نقاط التوقف استناداً إلى التصميم والمحتوى الخاص بك قد توفر لك المزيد من الحرية والمرونة. وهذا هو النهج الذي سوف نتخذ في هذا البرنامج التعليمي.


الخطوة 2: كتابة الترميز

لنبدأ ببناء صفحة بسيطة. سننشئ منطقة "مقالة" تحتوي على بعض المحتوى وشريط تنقل. بجانب المقال ، سنضع جانباً.

وتشمل عناصر التنقل عشرة أو حتى في هذه القائمة، من أجل المظاهرة.


الخطوة 3: التصميم الأساسي

أولاً ، دعنا نضع قائمتنا للبحث عن شريط تنقل.

كما سنقوم نحن المادة تبرز قليلاً، وعرض لنا جانبا كالشريط جانبي. نحن نستخدم قيم النسبة المئوية لعرض لدينا لجعل السائل التصميم لدينا.

يجب أن تبدو نتائجنا النهائية كما يلي:

Screenshots of the design at small medium and large widths

الخطوة 4: إضافة نقطة توقف

عندما يصبح عرضنا صغيرا جدا ، يلتف النص كثيرا بحيث يصبح من الصعب قراءته. يمكننا إصلاح ذلك عن طريق ترك كل من المقالة والموضوع جانبا يشغل العرض الكامل ، ودفع جانبًا أسفل المقالة.

Screenshot of the demo in a small window

لا تتردد في اللعب مع عرض النافذة ومشاهدة ما يحدث. بشكل عام، كما يحصل الإطار أصغر، هناك مساحة لأقل وأقل من الملاحة. حين تقوم بتقليص النافذة إلى 550px، رغم ذلك، كنت فعلا اكتساب بعض المساحة للملاحة جانبا قطرات إلى السطر التالي.

يعتمد عدد العناصر التي يمكننا عرضها في شريط التنقل على عدة عوامل ، بما في ذلك عرض النافذة ونقطة الإيقاف وحجم الخط وعدد العناصر في التنقل.


خطوة 5: تعيين ارتفاع ثابت على شريط التنقل

في العديد من الحالات ، لا يتناسب محتوى شريط التنقل مع سطر واحد أنيق. دعونا نصلح ذلك!

إذا كان المستخدم لديه جافا سكريبت ، فسوف نخفي العناصر التي لا تلائم. سنعرضها في قائمة منسدلة لاحقًا. إذا لم يكن لدى المستخدم جافا سكريبت ، فسوف نسمح بارتداد ارتفاع شريط التنقل حسب الحاجة. إنها ليست جميلة ، لكنها تعمل على الأقل.

للقيام بذلك، سنقوم تحميل وتشمل بناء مخصصة ل Modernizr، مكتبة جافا سكريبت التي تسمح لنا باختبار دعم ميزة في المستعرضات. دعم تجاربنا بناء مخصصة لجافا سكريبت ودعم أحداث اللمس.

بعد ذلك ، سنضيف فئة "no-js" إلى علامتنا. إذا كان المستخدم لديه جافا سكريبت ، فسيغير Mozernizr هذه الفئة إلى "js." إذا لم يكن لدى المستخدم جافا سكريبت ، فستصنف الطبقة "no-js".

ملاحظة: لأسباب تتعلق بالأداء، فمن الأفضل عادة تجنب وضع البرامج النصية في الجزء العلوي من الصفحة. بينما المستعرض مشغولة من تحميل البرامج النصية، أنها ستتوقف عن تحميل الملفات الأخرى وتقديم الصفحة. وفي هذه الحالة، هذا في الواقع ما نريد: لا نريد المستعرض لعرض أي شيء حتى يصبح لدينا فئة.js في المكان. أداء صغيرة ضرب المقترنة مع هذا النهج، الذي نحن قد يخفف إلى حد ما باستخدام بناء مخصصة من Modernizr. إذا كنت بحاجة فقط أن "لا-شبيبة" فئة، ولا تخطط لاستخدام ميزات أخرى من Modernizr، يمكن أن تجعل حتى افتح الصفحة الخاصة بك باستخدام هذا التساؤل سطر واحد بدلاً من ذلك.

والآن بعد أن أصبح لدينا فصل .js يعمل في مكانه ، فلنستخدمه لإخفاء أي عناصر تلتف على خط ثانٍ.


خطوة 6: إضافة فليكسمينو

بعد ذلك ، لنقم بتنزيل flexMenu ، وهو ملحق jQuery يتيح لنا التحقق مما إذا كانت جميع العناصر مناسبة في شريط التنقل وعرض نوع القائمة المناسب. سنحتاج أيضًا إلى jQuery نفسها. ضع هذه البرامج النصية في أسفل الصفحة ، بحيث لا تمنع عرض الصفحة أثناء تحميلها.

أننا نحتاج أيضا إلى معرفة فليكسمينو إلقاء نظرة على القائمة، وتغيير حجمه حسب الحاجة:

الآن ، أثناء تغيير حجم الصفحة ، يظهر رابط "المزيد" عندما لا تتناسب بعض العناصر على شريط التنقل. يمكنك التمرير فوق هذا الارتباط أو النقر عليه لعرض قائمة منسدلة تحتوي على هذه العناصر. عندما تصبح الصفحة صغيرة جدًا بحيث لا يظهر أكثر من عنصر أو عنصرين في شريط التنقل ، يتم تقديم رابط "قائمة". عند المرور فوق هذا الارتباط أو النقر عليه ، تظهر جميع عناصر التنقل.

flexMenu working but looking pretty ugly

ولدينا الآن السلوك الذي نريد، ولكن القائمة المنسدلة تبدو فظيعة جداً. هذا ما يرام--سنقوم الإصلاح التي في الخطوة التالية.


الخطوة 7: نمط flexMenu

والآن، دعونا نضيف بعض الأنماط جعل القائمة المنسدلة تبدو أجمل. سنقوم أيضا بإضافة CSS سهم "القائمة" أو الارتباط "مزيد" لتجعل من الواضح أن هذه الروابط سوف تفتح قائمة منسدلة.

باستخدام أسهم CSS ، لا توجد صورة لتحميلها ، وستظل الأسهم حادة على الشاشات عالية الدقة. هذا النهج يعمل في جميع المتصفحات الحديثة وكذلك IE8. إذا كنت بحاجة إلى دعم IE7 أو إصدار سابق ، فتأكد من تضمين التراجع استنادًا إلى الصورة.

Screenshot of our popup menu looking pretty decent

الخطوة 8: ضبط لشاشات اللمس

الآن لدينا شريط أدوات يعمل بشكل جيد على مجموعة متنوعة من أحجام الشاشة ، ولكن من الصعب قليلاً استخدامه على شاشة تعمل باللمس. لا توفر شاشات اللمس قدرًا كبيرًا من الدقة مثل الفئران ولوحات التعقب ، لذلك من السهل تفويتها والنقر على العنصر الخطأ. لإصلاح هذه المشكلة ، دعنا نجعل الروابط أكبر قليلاً وننقلها بعيدًا بعض الشيء.

Modernizr، الذي أضفنا في وقت سابق، يوفر فئة CSS لكل ميزة التحقق من ذلك. على الأجهزة مع شاشات اللمس، فإنه سيتم إضافة فئة "اللمس". على الأجهزة دون شاشات اللمس، فإنه سيتم إضافة فئة "عدم اللمس".

Mmm Big Type

نظرًا لأننا قد أعربنا عن جميع أحجامنا في نظام الإدارة البيئية ، يمكننا توسيع نطاق navbar بالكامل لأعلى أو لأسفل حسب حجم الخط. لا يضبط السطر الأول أعلاه (حسناً ، فنياً بثلاثة طرق قمنا بتوزيعها عليه) حجم النص وحسب ، بل أيضًا حجم الأسهم ، وارتفاع شريط التنقل ، والحشو على الروابط ، والهامش بين العناصر.

ملاحظة: تشير فئة .touch إلى دعم أحداث اللمس ، والتي تتيح للمطورين إنشاء إدخال باللمس في تطبيقات الويب. من المرجح أن تحصل الأجهزة التي تحتوي على شاشات اللمس والفئران (مثل ألواح Windows 8) على فئة .touch. تقوم معظم أجهزة اللمس بمحاكاة أحداث الماوس لأغراض التوافق ، لذا لا توجد حاليًا طريقة لاستخدام Modernizr للكشف عن الأجهزة باستخدام كل من شاشات اللمس والفئران.

Screenshot of our responsive navbar on an iPhone

الخطوة 9: إصلاح Funkiness عبر متصفح

إذا كنت اسحب التجريبي حتى الآن في IE7، ستلاحظ ربما مشكلتين:

  • أثناء تغيير حجم النافذة ، يتم الضغط على الشريط الجانبي أحيانًا أسفل المقالة قبل أن نصل إلى نقطة توقفنا.
  • القائمة المنسدلة عبارة عن بكسل واحد أسفل رابط "المزيد" ، لذلك تختفي القائمة عند محاولة التمرير فوقها.

المشكلة الأولى هي سبب IE7 في التعامل مع النسب المئوية. إذا تحسب قيمة هذا إينكلويس جزء صغير من البيكسل، كان دائماً تقريب. والمشكلة الثانية هي ربما الناجمة عن مشكلة مشابهة.

للتغلب على هذه المشكلة ، يمكننا تعيين عرض ثابت لصفحتنا في IE7. للقيام بذلك ، لنقم أولاً بإضافة فئة "أقل من IE8" في أعلى الصفحة.

وبعد ذلك، دعونا نضيف بعض المغلق الذي يقوم بتعيين عرض بكسل محدد لهذه المادة، وجانبا في IE7. عرض إجمالي لهذه المناطق، بالإضافة إلى الحشو والهامش، وبدل للتقريب، يخرج إلى 901 بكسل.

كما كنت قد تلاحظ أن دائرة الرقابة الداخلية، على مستوى التكبير/التصغير التغييرات عندما تقوم بتدوير الجهاز من عمودي إلى أفقي. لإصلاح هذه المشكلة، مجرد الاستيلاء على هذا الإصلاح على أساس جافا سكريبت والإشارة إليه في الجزء السفلي من الصفحة. تم إصلاح هذه المشكلة على ما يبدو في دائرة الرقابة الداخلية 6.


مزيد من القراءة

مقالات براد فروست تستجيب أنماط التنقل السريع وأنماط الملاحة المعقدة للتصميم المستجيب لمجموعة متنوعة واسعة من الطرق للملاحة على المواقع سريعة الاستجابة.

روبليوسكي لوقا أيضا مورد كبير لأنماط التصميم متجاوبة ومتنقلة. على وجه الخصوص، نهجه "قبالة قماش" ذكية جداً: فإنه يضع الملاحة والمحتويات الأخرى الثانوية خارج الشاشة على أجهزة صغيرة. عند صنابير المستخدم زر، شرائح المحتوى من اليسار أو اليمين.

هذه الموارد لا توفر قائمة شاملة ، بالطبع. التصميم المتجاوب لا يزال مجالًا صغيرًا ، ويمكنك توقع ظهور أنماط جديدة رائعة للتصميم في المستقبل. ربما البعض منهم سيكون لك!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

A Flexible Approach to Responsive Navigation

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

Many responsive websites provide a horizontal navigation bar on large screens and drop-down navigation for smaller viewports. It's a perfectly decent approach, but it's not without its issues. Firstly, devices don't just come in large and small; they come in every size imaginable. Secondly, the navigation might well change over time. Thirdly, the layout or font size might vary across screen sizes. We're going to do things differently…

Why not check (with JavaScript) to see how much of our the navigation actually fits in the space available? Once we know that, we can take items that don't fit within the navbar and move them into a dropdown menu. On especially small screens, we can choose to put the entire menu into a dropdown.


Does the Navigation Fit?

Which type of navigation works best? The answer to this question depends on several factors, including screen size, font size, font family, number of nav items, and the context in which the navigation appears. These factors interact with one another, and they can all change.

Rather than considering each of these factors, we'll simply look at the end result: do all the navigation items fit in one neat row, or do some get pushed down to the next line? If it's the latter, how many items do fit? Armed with this information, we can choose the right navigation for the job.


Step 1: Choosing Breakpoints

Responsive design has two main features. Firstly, the design must be fluid: its width scales with the width of the browser. Secondly, there are breakpoints, widths at which the design changes through use of CSS media queries. For example, you might decide that when the browser is no wider than 480 pixels, a sidebar will move below the content and and headings will become smaller. You can have as many or as few breakpoints as you'd like.

Screenshots of Twitter Bootstrap at desktop and mobile breakpoints

You can create a breakpoint by using a media query, like this:

@media only screen and (max-width: 480px) {
	/* This CSS will be applied only to phones and other small devices. */
}

So, how do we go about choosing breakpoints? One approach is to pick a few widths that match up with common device sizes.

Twitter Bootstrap has several breakpoints, including a "smartphone" breakpoint that is triggered on viewports no wider than 480px. It also has a "portrait tablets" breakpoint that is triggered between 768px and 979px.

You may notice that there's no "landscape tablet" breakpoint in Bootstrap. That's because the iPad is 1024 pixels wide in landscape - the same width as many desktop screens. That brings us to the main flaw with this approach: it involves making educated guesses about types of devices. A device that hits our "portrait tablet" might actually be a really big phone or a really small laptop.

Media queries don't tell us what type of device is being used, but we can make an educated guess based on the device's size.

An alternate approach would be to base breakpoints on the design and content. You could implement a fluid version of your design with no breakpoints, and then test it at different widths. When you encounter widths where things start to look strange, it's a good time to consider adding a breakpoint. This is the approach favored by Ethan Marcotte, who coined the term "responsive design."

Screenshot of the Boston Globe at three different widths

Which approach is best? As with so many things in life, it depends. Are you using a pre-built framework like Bootstrap? Do you think it'll be easier to explain responsive design to your team or to clients if you can talk about specific types of devices? If you answered "yes", choosing breakpoints based on device sizes may be right for you. If you answered "no", choosing breakpoints based on your design and content may give you more freedom and flexibility. That's the approach that we'll take in this tutorial.


Step 2: Writing the Markup

Let's start building a simple page. We'll build an "article" area that contains some content and a navbar. Next to the article, we'll place an aside.

<article>
	<nav>
		<ul class="navbar" id="mainNavbar">
			<li><a href="/">Home</a></li>
			<li><a href="/products.html">Products</a></li>
			<!-- More nav items... -->
			<li><a href="/contact.html">Contact</a></li>
		</ul>
	</nav>
	<p>Here is our content.</p>
</article>
<aside>
	<p>Here is a side note about our content.</p>
</aside>

Include ten or so navigation items in this list, for the sake of the demonstration.


Step 3: Basic Styling

First, let's style our list to look a navigation bar.

.navbar {
	background-color: #055;
	margin: 0;
	padding: 0;
	width: 100%;
	line-height: 1;
	overflow: hidden;
}

.navbar li, .navbar a {
	display: inline-block;	
}

.navbar li {
	list-style-type: none;
}

.navbar > li {
	margin-left: .25em;
}

.navbar > li:first-child {
	margin-left: 0;
}

.navbar a {
	padding: .25em;
	text-decoration: none;
	height: 1em;
	font-weight: bold;	
	color: #fff;
}

.navbar a:hover {
	background-color: #088;
}

We'll also make our article stand out a bit, and display our aside as a sidebar. We're using percentage values for our widths to make our design fluid.

body {
	font-family: sans-serif;
	font-size: 16px;
	background-color: #fff;
}

article {
	background-color: #eee;
	padding: 2.5%;
	margin-right: 1%;
	width: 64%;
	float:left;
}

aside {
	background-color: #ccc;
	padding: 2.5%;
	width: 25%;
	float: left;
}

Our end result should look something like this:

Screenshots of the design at small medium and large widths

Step 4: Add a Breakpoint

When our width gets particularly small, the text wraps so much that it becomes difficult to read. We can fix that by letting both the article and the aside take up the full width, and pushing the aside down below the article.

@media only screen and (max-width: 550px) {
	aside, article {
		width: 95%;
		float: none;
	}

	article {
		margin-right: 0;
		margin-bottom: 1em;
	}
}
Screenshot of the demo in a small window

Feel free to play with the window width and watch what happens. In general, as the window gets smaller, there's space for less and less of the navigation. When you shrink the window to 550px, though, you actually gain some space for the navigation as the aside drops to the next line.

The number of items that we can display in the navbar depends on several factors, including the width of the window, the breakpoint, the font size, and the number of items in the navigation.


Step 5: Set a Fixed Height on the Navbar

In many cases, our navbar content doesn't fit on one neat line. Let's fix that!

If the user has JavaScript, we'll hide items that don't fit. We'll show them in a dropdown menu later. If the user doesn't have JavaScript, we'll just let the navbar's height expand as needed. It's not pretty, but it's at least functional.

To do this, we'll download and include a custom build of Modernizr, a JavaScript library that allows us to test feature support in browsers. Our custom build tests for JavaScript support and touch event support.

Next, we'll add a "no-js" class to our tag. If the user has JavaScript, Mozernizr will change that class to "js." If the user doesn't have JavaScript, the class will remian "no-js".

<html class="no-js">
<script src="modernizr.custom.js"></script>

Note: For performance reasons, it's usually best to avoid putting scripts at the top of the page. While the browser is busy downloading scripts, it will stop downloading other files and rendering the page. In this case, that's actually what we want: we don't want the browser to display anything until our .js class is in place. There is a small performance hit associated with this approach, which we've mitigated somewhat by using a custom build of Modernizr. If you just need that "no-js" class and don't plan to use the other features of Modernizr, you could make your page even lighter by using this one-line wonder instead.

Now that we have a working .js class in place, let's use it to hide any items that wrap to a second line.

.js .navbar {
	height: 1.5em;
 	overflow: hidden;
}

Step 6: Add FlexMenu

Next, let's download flexMenu, a jQuery plugin that lets us check whether all items fit in the navbar and display the appropriate type of menu. We'll also need jQuery itself. Put these scripts at the bottom of the page, so that they don't block the page from displaying while they load.

<script src="https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8.0/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script src="flexmenu.min.js"></script>

We also need to tell flexMenu to look at our menu and resize it as needed:

<script type="text/javascript">
	$('#mainNavbar').flexMenu();
</script>

Now, as we resize the page, a "more" link appears when some of the items don't fit on the navbar. You can hover over or tap this link to display a dropdown with these items. When the page gets too small for more than one or two items to show in the navbar, we're presented with a "menu" link. When you hover over or tap this link, all the navigation items appear.

flexMenu working but looking pretty ugly

We now have the behavior that we want, but the dropdown menu looks pretty awful. That's okay - we'll fix that in the next step.


Step 7: Style flexMenu

Now, let's add some styles to make the dropdown look nicer. We'll also add a CSS arrow next to the "menu" or "more" link to make it clear that these links will open a drop-down menu.

With CSS arrows, there's no image to load, and the arrows stay sharp on high-resolution displays. This approach works in all modern browsers as well as IE8. If you need to support IE7 or earlier, be sure to include an image-based fallback.

.flexMenu-popup {
	padding: 0;
	background-color: #088;
	margin: 0;
}

.flexMenu-viewMore > a, .flexMenu-viewMore > a:hover {
	background-color: #5599AA;
}

.flexMenu-viewMore > a:after {
	display: inline-block;
	content:"";
	border-left:0.3em solid transparent;
	border-right:0.3em solid transparent;
	border-top:0.4em solid white;
	margin-left:0.4em;	
	position: relative;
	top: -.1em;
}

.flexMenu-viewMore.active > a, .flexMenu-viewMore.active > a:hover {
	background-color: #088;	
}

.flexMenu-popup > li > a, .flexMenu-popup > li {
	display: block;
}

.flexMenu-popup > li > a:hover {
	background-color: #3aa;
}
Screenshot of our popup menu looking pretty decent

Step 8: Adjust for Touchscreens

Now we have a toolbar that works well on a variety of screen sizes, but it's a little difficult to use on a touchscreen. Touchscreens don't provide as much precision as mice and trackpads, so it's easy to miss and tap the wrong item. To fix this problem, let's make the links a little larger and move them a bit further apart.

Modernizr, which we added earlier, provides a CSS class for each feature that it checks for. On devices with touchscreens, it will add the class "touch." On devices without touchscreens, it will add the class "no-touch".

.touch .navbar {
	font-size: 1.25em;
}
Mmm Big Type

Because we've expressed all our sizes in ems, we can scale the whole navbar up or down by its font size. The one line above (ok, techincally three the way we've spaced it) adjusts not only the size of the text but also the size of the arrows, the navbar's height, the padding on the links, and the margin between items.

Note: The .touch class indicates support for touch events, which lets developers build touch input into web applications. Devices that have both touchscreens and mice (e.g., Windows 8 slates) will most likely get the .touch class. Most touch devices simulate mouse events for compatibility purposes, so there's currently no way to use Modernizr to detect devices with both touchscreens and mice.

Screenshot of our responsive navbar on an iPhone

Step 9: Fix Cross-Browser Funkiness

If you pull up the demo so far in IE7, you'll probably notice two problems:

  • As you resize the window, the sidebar sometimes gets pushed below the article before we hit our breakpoint.
  • The drop-down menu is one pixel below the bottom of the "more" link, so the menu disappears when you try to hover over it.

The first problem is due to IE7's handling of percentages. If it calculates a value that inclues a fraction of a pixel, it always rounds up. The second problem is probably caused by a similar issue.

To work around this issue, we can set a fixed width for our page in IE7. To do this, let's first add a "less than IE8" class at the top of our page.

<!--[if lt IE 8]>    <html lang="en-us" class="no-js lt-ie8"> <![endif]-->
<!--[if gte IE 8]><!--> <html lang="en-us" class="no-js"> <!--<![endif]-->

Next, let's add some CSS that sets a specific pixel width for the article and aside in IE7. The total width of these areas, plus the padding, margin, and allowance for rounding up, comes out to 901 pixels.

.lt-ie8 .flexMenu-popup {
	margin-top: -1px
}

.lt-ie8 article {
	width: 600px;
}

.lt-ie8 aside {
	width: 200px;
}

.lt-ie8 body {
	width: 901px;
}

You also might notice that on iOS, the zoom level changes when you rotate the device from portrait to landscape. To fix this problem, just grab this JavaScript-based fix and reference it at the bottom of the page. This issue has apparently been fixed in iOS 6.


Further Reading

Brad Frost's articles Responsive Navigation Patterns and Complex Navigation Patterns for Responsive Design cover a wide variety of approaches to navigation on responsive sites.

Luke Wroblewski is also a great resource for responsive and mobile design patterns. In particular, his Off Canvas approach is pretty clever: it places navigation and other secondary content offscreen on small devices. When the user taps a button, the content slides in from the left or the right.

These resources don't provide an exhaustive list, of course. Responsive design is a still a young field, and you can expect loads of cool new design patterns to appear in the future. Maybe some of them will be yours!

Advertisement