Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. Web Design

Разработка семейства веб-сайтов

by
Read Time:12 minsLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Svetlana (you can also view the original English article)

По большей части веб-дизайн не совсем о технике Photoshop, поэтому всегда сложно написать учебник Photoshop по этому вопросу. Еще сегодня я собираюсь познакомить вас с дизайном, который я недавно собрал. Мы пройдем несколько шагов Photoshop, и я попытаюсь наполнить вас некоторыми аргументами моих действий.

Вы можете найти файлы Photoshop PSD в каталоге с надписью «PSD», которые вошли в загруженный вами ZIP-файл. Вы можете просмотреть их кратко, прежде чем мы начнем.


Во-первых, окончательные проекты

Сначала взгляните на проекты. Я пишу книгу на тему WordPress под названием «Как стать дизайнером WordStress Rockstar». В книге потребовалась следующая тема примера, поэтому я разработал ту, которую я называю «Креатив», потому что это звучит по-французски и как-то круто. В принципе, это набор дизайнов, которые мы будем строить в двух темах WordPress - один из них является обычным блогом, а один - темой, которая позволяет использовать WordPress для создания портфеля.

Ниже вы видите четыре основных экрана, которые я использовал для создания темы. Вообще говоря, я создаю два экрана для большинства веб-сайтов - домашнюю страницу и страницу контента. Если сайт более сложный, я бы создал один экран на критическую страницу. В какой-то степени вы можете создавать несколько страниц, когда находитесь в фазе построения HTML, но хорошо отображать любые ключевые страницы, чтобы вы могли быть уверены, что все выглядит и кажется правильным.

Ниже приведены экраны:

  1. Домашняя страница для темы «Портфолио креатива»
  2. Домашняя страница Creatif блог темы
  3. Общая страница содержимого для
  4. Альтернативная цветовая схема, которую мы построим в сменную таблицу стилей - чтобы вы могли поменять их и получить темную или легкую версию любой темы.









Цветовая палитра

Одним из моих первых решений при разработке нового сайта является выбор цветовой палитры. Есть несколько хороших сайтов, чтобы помочь вам выбрать хороший набор, но часто я просто придумываю свои собственные, экспериментируя. Простая формула, которую я иногда использую, - это выбрать набор нейтральных оттенков и один цвет подсветки, чтобы поднять палитру. В этом случае я выбрал красивую серо-голубую цветовую палитру с действительно ярким голубым цветом, как мой цвет подсветки.



Шаг 1

Мы начинаем учебник с небольшого логотипа. Хотя дизайн логотипа, как правило, сложный процесс, в этом случае я просто хочу, чтобы небольшая графика привязывала мою страницу. Поэтому я пропустил весь обычный процесс и просто сделал небольшой текстовый логотип. Если вас интересует дизайн логотипа, отличный блог на эту тему - логотип Design Love от David Airey, и в Faveup, конечно же, можно найти хорошую галерею логотипов.

Во всяком случае, я выбрал шрифт News Gothic Condensed Bold. Я думаю, что это шрифт Mac по умолчанию, но я не уверен, когда я устанавливаю шрифты bazillion везде, куда бы я ни пошел. Я использовал простой стиль слоя (для которого вы можете увидеть настройки на следующем шаге), что делает тип выглядящим как web2 и модным. Он использует слабый градиент, тонкую тень и границу 1px, чтобы снять тип с страницы.



Шаг 2

Ниже приведены параметры для стиля слоя:



Шаг 3

Затем я добавил закругленный прямоугольник за текстом. Вы можете создать это с помощью Rounded Rectangle Tool (U). Как вы можете видеть на изображении ниже, я добавил слабый градиент к коробке. Вы можете сделать это, нажав CTRL, щелкнув слой, чтобы выбрать его пиксели,выбрав «Выбрать»> «Изменить»> «Контракт» и «Контрактинг» на 1 пиксель, а затем на новом слое, нарисующем «Радиальный градиент» из более светлой версии темного цвета и затухания до прозрачности.

Как я уже упоминал ранее, этот дизайн немного похож на web2, он чист и прост, имеет некоторые градиенты и довольно незагроможден. Некоторые дизайнеры решительно держатся подальше от тенденций, лично я не против использовать их, пока они соответствуют моей цели. В этом случае я хотел получить чистый вид, который не мешал содержимому, но предоставлял приятную обертку. Во всяком случае, все это очень субъективно.



Шаг 4

Теперь холст, который я использую здесь, составляет около 1100 пикселей в ширину x 1400 пикселей. На самом деле весь контент находится в пределах 1000 пикселей, чтобы он отображался на экране 1024 x 768. Мне нравится иметь более широкий холст, чтобы я мог планировать, что происходит, когда зритель имеет большее разрешение.

На этом шаге я добавил основы моего заголовка, а именно темную полосу вверху, более темный оттенок цвета фона в качестве панели меню, линию 1px для закрытия строки меню и некоторый подтекст под моим логотипом ( в News Gothic Condensed снова).

Следует отметить две вещи:

  1. Всегда приятно использовать оттенки вашей цветовой палитры. Здесь у меня цвет фона, панель меню, элементы меню и подтекст логотипа - все разные, более темные оттенки этого цвета. Это дает приятное, гладкое, не противоречивое чувство. Конечно, если вы используете только оттенки, становится довольно скучно, вот почему мы представляем наш цвет подсветки немного позже. Различные стили дизайна потребуют большего изменения цвета, но в нашем случае мы хотим, чтобы в основном сочетались оттенки и оттенки с одним сильным оттенком.
  2. Кроме того, приятно отразить ваш цвет в вашем дизайне. Итак, у нас есть бежевый цвет фона, а затем наш темный цвет появляется в трех местах: логотип, верхняя панель и выделенная ссылка меню. This creates a visual balance and alignment between the three elements. Balance is important.


Шаг 5

Здесь мы добавляем первый бит нашего цвета выделения. Это действительно тонкая линия 1px вдоль вершины. Позже, когда мы добавим больше элементов, цвет подсветки снова появится в разных местах, и эти элементы будут объединены, чтобы объединить их в единый, гладкий дизайн. Поскольку для этого дизайна не так много, кроме хорошо размещенных элементов и цвета, очень важно правильно раскрасить.



Шаг 6

Теперь страница выглядит немного плоской, поэтому здесь я добавил слой чуть выше фонового слоя. Затем я нарисовал радиальный градиент, идущий от моего темного бежевого / серого цвета к прозрачности, и установил этот слой в Color Dodge, чтобы осветлить фон. Поскольку панель меню фактически нарисована с прозрачностью, эффект подсветки также отображается в строке меню.

Важно помнить, что вам нужно позже построить этот проект в HTML. По этой причине вы заметите, что к тому времени, когда вы доберетесь до края видимой области размером 1000 пикселей, мы вернемся к монотонным цветам. Это означает, что позже я смогу создать один фрагмент изображения и использовать его в качестве фонового изображения CSS. Тогда у меня будет другое фоновое изображение с большой областью выделения, и это будет фоновое изображение в основном теле контента.

Важно знать о строительных площадках, чтобы вы могли проектировать их таким образом, чтобы избежать осложнений позже на дорожке. Я думаю, что это в основном происходит от опыта и изучения того, какие дизайнерские решения могут сделать жизнь трудной позже. Здесь значительно упрощается жизнь легко воспроизводимого фона за пределами видимой области размером 1000 пикселей.



Шаг 7

Затем пришло время начать добавлять мою первую белую область содержимого. Здесь я использовал контур 1px более темной версии цвета фона, затем внутреннюю границу 1px и, наконец, слабый бежевый градиент, идущий вниз. Этот стиль соответствует моему более раннему логотипу. Кроме того, имея более темный контур, а затем более легкую внутреннюю схему, мы получаем очень резкий взгляд на страницу. Резкость происходит от контраста, т. Е. От темного к свету.

Лично я считаю, что четкость или ясность действительно важны в веб-дизайне. Ничто не раздражает меня больше, чем отсутствие внимания к деталям, делая вещи ясными и четкими.



Шаг 8

Теперь я добавляю здесь какой-то макет. Поскольку этот текст должен быть HTML-текстом, важно тщательно выбирать шрифты. Там нет ничего более удручающего, чем выбор некоторых хороших шрифтов, а затем вспоминая позже, что они не являются шрифтами по умолчанию, и поэтому ваш дизайн будет выглядеть совершенно иначе, чем вы себе представляли. Я использовал Helvetica для смелого заголовка и Arial для текста.

В Photoshop рекомендуется настроить Anti-Aliasing на «Sharp», чтобы подражать тому, как текст будет выглядеть в браузере. Раньше я использовал «None», но в наши дни большинство компьютеров и всех Mac используют этот отличный материал ClearType, чтобы шрифты выглядели гладкими.

Еще раз обратите внимание, что в подтекстовых ссылках используется наш синей подсветки, набирая линию заголовка 1px, которую мы добавили ранее.



Шаг 9

Затем я добавил небольшой элемент дизайна в виде полосы сообщений в правом верхнем углу моего окна. В простом дизайне, таком как это (где это в основном простые строки и коробки), приятно иметь один или два элемента, которые действительно выпрыгивают. подсветки в сочетании с углом 45 ', чтобы сделать классный элемент, который выглядит потрясающе.

Поэтому мы рисуем прямоугольник и добавляем текст поверх вершины. Затем я использовал инструмент Dodge Tool (O), чтобы осветлить среднюю часть, и добавил стиль слоя, чтобы придать тексту немного тени. Затем, выбирая оба слоя вместе, я нажимаю CTRL-T для преобразования и поворота 45 '.



Шаг 10

Поместив его поверх моего ящика, я отрезал края, как показано. Теперь вы заметите, что мы могли бы разместить его так, чтобы он был выровнен с полем, но я подумал, что было бы неплохо сделать так, чтобы эта полоса обертывалась вокруг коробки, так что это примерно 4 пикселя.



Шаг 11

Затем я вручную выбрал пиксели в шаблоне, который вы видите ниже, создал слой ниже слоя полосы сообщений и нарисовал более темный синий цвет. Он темнее, поэтому он выглядит как обратная сторона полосы сообщений, и вы заметите, что я сделал это так, чтобы он был темнее справа, где он был в макете.



Шаг 12

Затем я продублировал свою обертку и повернул ее на 90 ° и поместил ее также в правую сторону коробки, как показано. И вуаля, наш элемент дизайна!



Шаг 13

Затем я создал еще несколько элементов. Здесь не так много нового. Я в основном повторно использовал те же элементы дизайна - тот же стиль текста, одну и ту же полосу сообщений, те же самые коробки - и рисовал их там, где хотел бы мой контент.



Шаг 14

Затем я добавил нижний колонтитул. Это не очень захватывающий нижний колонтитул, но он использует те же цвета, что и верхняя панель, чтобы снова отразить их и в этом случае запечатать дизайн.



Шаг 15

Теперь, когда я создаю тему WordPress, я также решил создать версию своего логотипа, которая может быть создана с использованием обычного текста. Вы можете увидеть его ниже, и в HTML-компоненте этого урока мы создадим этот «логотип».



Шаг 16

В этот момент я подумал, что покажу вам свою палитру слоев. Я не большой по названию слоев (потому что я ленив), но я действительно верю в группировку слоев в множества. Здесь дизайн логотипа с текстовым логотипом, блога и портфолио и внутренней страницы находятся в одном файле PSD, только в разных слоях. Поэтому я могу включать и выключать их и принимать различные меры. переместить логотип 2px влево, мне не нужно открывать три файла и перемещать их по 2 пикселя в каждом или подвергать риску расхождения. Кроме того, это просто приятно и заказано и заставляет меня чувствовать себя теплой и нечеткой внутри, чтобы посмотреть.



Шаг 17

Теперь я должен отметить, что на практике я не совсем проектировал этот дизайн так, как я изложил в учебнике. На самом деле мой самый ранний макет больше напоминал изображение, показанное ниже.

Затем мне пришлось отключить темно-коричневый слой и подумал, что это выглядит просто здорово на светлом цвете. Это то, что называется счастливой случайностью. Хотел бы я сказать, что я был достаточно умен, чтобы нести ответственность за всю мою работу, но, откровенно говоря, половина из них - просто удача.

В любом случае, когда я дошел до конца своего дизайна, я снова посмотрел на этот ранний макет и подумал, что дизайн выглядел красиво с темным фоном. Так почему бы не сделать версию там, где темно, тогда я могу создать опцию для переключения таблиц стилей, это было бы правильно!



Шаг 18

Поэтому я создал новую копию моего файла дизайна и изменил фон на темно-коричневый. К счастью, на самом деле не так много, что нужно изменить, я потемнел логотип до черного, так что он выделяется все еще, я также настроил несколько других цветов, чтобы дизайн все имел смысл. Это не так приятно, как оригинал, но приятное дополнение к семье.



Выводы 

Как я уже упоминал в начале этого урока, речь идет не столько о технике Photoshop. Реальность - это веб-дизайн, который часто использует только самые простые методы заполнения блоков цвета. Этот дизайн больше касается выбора цветов и оттенков, шрифтов, а затем принятия решения о том, как выложить все это. Надеюсь, вы получили что-то из этого процесса.


Создание в HTML

Конечно, разработка сайта в Photoshop - это только одна часть задания веб-дизайна. Следующий шаг - превратить дизайн в HTML.

Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Designing a Family of Websites

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

For the most part web design isn't really about Photoshop technique, so it's always tricky writing a Photoshop tutorial on the subject. Still today I'm going to take you through a design that I recently put together. We'll be going through some Photoshop steps, and I'll try to fill you in on some of the reasoning behind my actions too.

You can find the Photoshop PSD files in a directory labelled 'PSDs' that came in the ZIP file that you downloaded. You may wish to look through them briefly before we begin.


First, the Final Designs

First a look at the designs. I'm writing a book on WordPress theming called How to Be a Rockstar WordPress Designer. The book required a follow along example theme, so I designed this one which I'm calling "Creatif" - because it sounds French and kinda cool. Basically it's a set of designs that we'll build into two WordPress themes - one is a regular blog, and one is a theme that lets you use WordPress to make a portfolio.

What you see below are the four main design screens I've used to build the theme. Generally speaking I create two screens for most websites - a homepage and a content page. If a site is more complicated, then I'd create one screen per critical page. To some extent you can design some pages when you're in the HTML build phase, but it's good to map out any key pages, so you can be sure that everything looks and feels right.

The screens below are:

  1. The homepage for the Creatif Portfolio theme
  2. The homepage for the Creatif Blog theme
  3. A general content page for either
  4. An alternate colour scheme that we'll build into an interchangeable stylesheet - so you can swap them and get a dark or light version of either theme.









Colour Palette

One of my first decisions when designing a new site is to choose a colour palette. There are some good sites out there to help you choose a nice set but often I just come up with my own by experimenting. A simple formula that I sometimes use is to choose a set of neutral shades and a single highlight colour to lift the palette. In this instance I've chosen a beigy-grey colour palette with a really bright light blue as my highlight colour.



Step 1

We begin the tutorial with a little logo. While logo design is generally a complex process, in this instance I just want a little graphic to anchor my page. So I skipped all the regular process and just made a nice little text / box logo. If you're interested in logo design, a great blog on the subject is Logo Design Love by David Airey, and a good gallery of logos can of course be found at Faveup.

Anyhow so I chose the font News Gothic Condensed Bold. I think this is a default Mac font, but I'm not sure as I install a bazillion fonts everywhere I go. I used a simple Layer Style (for which you can see settings in the next step) that makes the type look kinda web2 and trendy. It uses a faint gradient, subtle shadow and a 1px border to lift the type off the page.



Step 2

Here are the settings for the Layer Style:



Step 3

Next I added a rounded rectangle behind the text. You can create this with the Rounded Rectangle Tool (U). As you can see in the image below I added a faint gradient to the box as well. You can do this by CTRL-clicking the box layer to select its pixels, going to Select > Modify > Contract and contracting by 1px and then in a new layer drawing a Radial Gradient from a lighter version of the dark colour and fading to transparency.

As I mentioned earlier this design has a bit of a web2 sort of feel to it - it's clean and simple, has some gradients and is quite uncluttered. Some designers resolutely stay away from trends, personally I don't mind using them so long as they fit my purpose. In this case I wanted a clean look that didn't get in the way of the content but provided a nice wrapper. Anyhow, it's all a bit subjective really.



Step 4

Now the canvas I'm using here is about 1100px wide x 1400px high. In reality all the content is within 1000px so that it will be viewable on a 1024 x 768 screen. I like to have a wider canvas so I can plan for what happens when the viewer has a larger resolution.

In this step I've added the basics of my header, namely a dark bar along the top, a darker shade of the background colour as my menu bar, a 1px line to seal off the menu bar, and some subtext under my logo (in News Gothic Condensed again).

There are two things to note:

  1. It's always nice to use shades of your colour palette. Here I have a background colour, the menu bar, the menu items and the logo subtext are all varying, darker shades of that colour. This gives a nice, smooth, non clashing feel. Of course if you only use shades it gets pretty boring, that's why we introduce our highlight colour a little later. Different design styles will call for more variation in colour, but in our case we want mostly matching hues and shades with one strong highlight.
  2. Additionally it's nice to reflect your colour across your design. So here we have a beige background colour and then our darker colour appears in three spots - the logo, the top bar and the highlighted menu link. This creates a visual balance and alignment between the three elements. Balance is important.


Step 5

Here we add the first bit of our highlight colour. It's a really subtle 1px line along the top. Later as we add more elements the highlight colour will appear again in different spots, and will pull those elements together to unify them into a single, slick looking design. Because there's not much to this design except well placed elements and colour, it's very important to get the colouring right.



Step 6

Now the page is looking a bit flat, so here I added a layer just above the background layer. Then I drew in a Radial Gradient going from my dark beige/grey colour to transparency and set that layer to Colour Dodge to lighten the background. Because the menu bar is in fact drawn in with transparency the lightening effect shows through the menu bar too.

It's important to remember though that you need to build this design into HTML later. For that reason you'll notice that by the time you get to the edges of the 1000px viewable area we're back to monotone colours. This means later on I'll be able to create a single image slice and use it as a CSS background image. Then I'll have another background image with the big highlight area and this will be a background image in the main content body.

It's important to know about building sites so that you can design them in such a way as to avoid complications later on down the track. I think this mostly comes from experience and learning what design decisions can make life troublesome later on. Here it makes life much easier to have an easily repeatable background outside the 1000px viewable area.



Step 7

Next it's time to start adding my first white, content block area. Here I used a 1px outline of a darker version of the background colour, then a 1px interior border and finally a faint beige gradient going downwards. This style matches my earlier logo. Additionally by having the darker outline, followed by lighter interior outline we get a very sharp look to the page. Sharpness comes from contrast - i.e. dark to light.

Personally I think sharpness or clarity is really vital in web design. Nothing annoys me more than a lack of attention to detail in making things clear and crisp.



Step 8

Now I add some mock content in here. Because this text has to be HTML text it's important to choose your fonts carefully. There's nothing more depressing than choosing some nice fonts and then remembering later on that they aren't default fonts and so consequently your design is going to look totally different to how you imagined. I've used Helvetica for the bold headline and Arial for the text.

In Photoshop it's a good idea to set the Anti-Aliasing to "Sharp" to mimick how the text will look in the browser. In the old days I used to use "None", but these days most PCs and all Macs use that nifty ClearType stuff to make fonts look smooth.

Again note that the subtext links use our highlight blue, picking up on the 1px headling line we added earlier.



Step 9

Next I added a little design element in the form of a message strip along the top right corner of my box. In a simple design like this (where it's mostly simple lines and boxes), it's nice to have one or two elements that really leap out. In this case we're going to use our highlight colour combined with a 45' angle to make a cool element that looks awesome.

So we draw a rectangle and add some text over the top. Then I used the Dodge Tool (O) to lighten the middle part, and added a Layer Style to give the text a bit of shadow. Then selecting both layers together, I hit CTRL-T to transform and rotated 45'.



Step 10

After placing it over my box I cut away the edges as shown. Now you'll notice we could have placed it so it was aligned with the box, but I thought it'd be nice to make it look like this strip is wrapping around the box, so it's about 4px off the box.



Step 11

Next I manually selected the pixels in the pattern you see below, created a layer below the message strip layer and drew in a darker blue colour. It's darker so it looks like the back of the message strip, and you'll notice that I made it so that it's darker towards the right where it's in a mock shadow.



Step 12

I then duplicated my wrap and rotated it 90' and placed it on the right hand side of the box as well, as shown. And voila, our design element!



Step 13

Next I created some more elements. There's not much new here. I basically reused the same design elements - the same text style, the same message strip, the same boxes - and drew them in where I'd like my content.



Step 14

Next I added a footer area. It's not a very exciting footer, but it does use the same colours as the top bar to reflect them yet again and in this case seal off the design.



Step 15

Now because I'm creating a WordPress theme I also decided to create a version of my logo that could be created with plain text. You can see it below and in the HTML component of this tutorial we'll create that "logo" box.



Step 16

At this point I thought I'd show you my layers palette. I'm not big on naming layers (because I'm lazy) but I do believe in grouping layers into sets. Here the design for the logo vs text logo, the blog vs portfolio and the internal page are all in the same PSD file, just in different layer sets. So I can switch them on and off and get different arrangements. This is useful because if I suddenly decide to move the logo 2px to the left, I don't have to open up three files and move it 2px in each or risk having discrepancies. Also it's just nice and ordered and makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside to look at.



Step 17

Now I should point out that in practice I didn't quite design this design the way I've laid out in the tutorial. In fact my earliest mockup looked more like the image shown below.

I then happened to switch off the dark brown layer and thought it kinda looked cool just on the lighter colour. This is what's called a Happy Accident. I wish I could say I was clever enough to be responsible for all the niceness of my work, but frankly half of it is pure luck.

In any case when I got to the end of my design I looked back at this early mockup and thought that the design did kinda look nice with a dark background colour. So why not make a version where it's dark, then I can create an option to switch stylesheets, that'd be neat right!



Step 18

So I created a new copy of my design file and changed the background to dark brown. Fortunately there isn't actually much that needs to change, I darkened the logo to black so it stands out still, I also adjusted a few other colours to make the design all make sense. It's not quite as nice as the original, but a nice addition to the family.



Conclusions

As I mentioned at the beginning of this tutorial, this isn't so much about Photoshop technique. The reality is web design often uses only very basic techniques of filling in blocks of colour. This design is more about choosing colours and shades, fonts, and then deciding how to lay it all out. I hope you got something out of the process.


Building into HTML

Of course designing a site in Photoshop is only one part of a web design job. The next step is to take the design into HTML.

Advertisement