Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. Bootstrap
Webdesign

使用PHP和AJAX构建Bootstrap联系表单

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Fuhuan (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

在本教程中,我将回顾创建工作联系表单的步骤,利用日益流行的前端框架Bootstrap,结合AJAX和PHP。 从那里我们可以探索一些额外的功能,例如一些花哨的CSS动画和animate.css,进一步的JavaScript验证以及用异步内容改进用户体验。 

在编写本文时,  Bootstrap 3.3.5是最新版本,值得一提的是我们在本教程中使用了Bootstrap的缺省构建(带有12列布局)。 在跟随时,确保使用Bootstrap文档中概述的最新代码片段和代码结构。 

文件和文件夹结构 

首先,我们要创建一个根目录并包含以下文件和文件夹:

我们需要包括一些前端库来帮助我们,因此请继续下载(或从外部引用)以下内容:

放在这些库中,文件结构变成:

建立表格的基础知识

打开index.html文件,复制下面的HTML基础结构:

这是我们的基本html模板,我们将在其中构建表单的内容。 您可以看到我们链接了所有必需的CSS和JavaScript文件(注意,我们实际上并不需要这个特定示例的bootstrap.js)。 我们已经包含了一个视口meta标签 来帮助我们在Bootstrap中进行媒体查询。 JavaScript已放置在文件的底部,以帮助首先提供核心内容。

在我们的身体标记中,我们包含了一个div类 col-sm-6 col-sm-offset-3。 这基本上意味着在我们的sm (小)视口内和上面我们希望显示一个50%宽度的列(最多有12列)。 所述col-sm-offset-3类表示左的25%,由此产生的布局是可用的屏幕视区一半和水平居中的余量。 从这里我们已经包括了一个  h3并开始了我们的形式的基础知识。 确保将ID应用于此表单,以便稍后将jQuery事件附加到此表单中。

the offset will push our DIV 25 from the right

大胆尝试吧

构建表单的内容我们可以在标签中复制/粘贴或写入以下代码:

这是用户将与之交互的所有输入字段和按钮。 div指定的类的初始值row 是经典的Bootstrap语法,表示col元素的水平分组。 Bootstrap中的列创建填充或排列 - 在这些列周围添加一行将删除左侧和右侧的填充,帮助它们完全适合。 

我们创建了两个栏目col-sm-6(50%),我们将用它来分割我们的表格。在第一个中,col-sm-6 我们为名称创建了一个标签和字段,第二个用于电子邮件。 其中每个标签都包含一个具有适当for属性的标签,因此可以定位相关字段。 这些列中的每一列都包含一个form-group将标签和字段语义分组在一起并在底部应用一个小的页边空白。

Displaying two fields inline

活版印刷

Bootstrap允许您使用H1-H6的印刷术课程。 这些类为我们提供了样式化的内联元素,而无需添加额外的边距或创建块元素。 我们利用H4快速设计这些标签,使它们变得大而清晰。

form-control应用于每个输入的类使其跨越容器的整个长度(宽度为100%)。 它还应用各种样式来帮助构建易于阅读的表单元素(更高的高度,平坦的边框等)。

在这些列之后,我们包含消息体。 再次,我们将其包装在一个中,form-group并将类似的样式应用到我们以前的标签和文本区域。

行动呼吁

最后我们包含提交按钮。 Bootstrap有许多类别,用于各种按钮和排版颜色/状态。 我们选择使用“成功”按钮(btn-success),默认为绿色。 此外,我们需要应用基btn类来重置基本按钮功能(边框,填充,文本对齐,字体重量)。 我们应用了一个btn-lg类,它使它成为一个大按钮,最后是一个pull-right将此按钮右移的类。

在我们的按钮之后,我们已经包含了一个具有ID #msgSubmit并应用以下类的div :“ h3 text-center hidden”。 h3有助于创建更大的标题,text-center (您猜对了)将文本对齐设置为中心,最后我们设置了hidden将显示设置为无和隐藏的可见性的类。

Completed Form

添加提交功能

正如你在首选浏览器中看到的那样,我们已经创建了一个基本的Bootstrap表单。 然而,它实际上并没有做任何事情。 我们下一步将创建一个函数,该函数接受用户的输入并将其异步发送给我们的PHP邮件程序。  

打开scripts.js复制下面的代码:

这段代码是一个jQuery代码片段,它侦听我们#contactFormid 上的提交函数(如前所述)。 在这个函数中,我们解析一个event变量,将提交表单动作存储到函数中。 该 event.preventDeafult();站的形式提交,因为它通常会,因为没有任何形式的操作设置这将刷新页面。 最后,它请求 submitForm();函数。

提交表格();

接下来我们构建submitForm();如下函数:

设置的三个变量是获取表单中每个输入的值,并将它们分配给稍后使用的JavaScript变量。 

我们在jQuery中启动一个AJAX对象,并将类型参数设置为post,PHP文件位置的URL,我们希望发送的数据以及成功回调函数。 数据包含所有三个连接的变量以及关联的标识/标签。 当AJAX对象成功接收到PHP脚本返回的信息时,调用成功回调函数。 该函数捕获返回的文本并检查它是否等于字符串“success”。 如果是这样,它激活最终的功能formSuccess。

该formSuccess函数从#msgSubmit我们之前应用的div中移除隐藏的类,从而显示文本。

挂载到PHP邮件功能

最后,我们需要编写一个PHP脚本来接收数据并通过内置的php邮件功能发送我们的内容。 打开process.php并包含以下代码:

与之前的jQuery类似,我们需要收集并存储我们希望使用的变量。 从post函数中,我们可以收集三个输入变量,并将它们分配给PHP中的类似变量名称。 该$EmailTo 变量是一个预先定义的电子邮件地址,您可以在脚本中设置该电子邮件地址以在表单提交时发送到您的电子邮件。$Subject是您希望用作电子邮件主题的字符串。

电子邮件正文围绕建立的三个变量松散地构建。 首先设置一些描述性文字,例如“Name:”,然后是变量,然后是由/n(新行/换行符)确定的新行。 这是重复并连接到$body变量。

为了最终发送邮件,我们在邮件功能中附加它。 分配变量,$success我们包括它发送的电子邮件地址,主题,正文和电子邮件。

要启动发送电子邮件的过程,我们可以在if声明中调用它。 这也有助于检查是否成功。 如果邮件函数返回“true”,脚本将返回“success”,如果失败则返回“invalid”。

这个结果将被返回到AJAX对象并在客户端处理。 AJAX的优点在于,所有这些都是在客户端异步完成的,使用户可以在发送时继续使用该站点。 

后半部分

在本教程的前半部分介绍了表单的基本结构和功能之后,我们现在将介绍通过我们可以包含的各种附加功能提供用户反馈的基本内容。 具体而言,我们将通过客户端和服务器端的错误处理来涵盖表单反馈。 

再一次,为了帮助建立表单验证的过程,我们将利用一些工具。 这些包括:

像我们之前使用Bootstrap和jQuery一样将这些添加到项目中。 这些工具将有助于在用户提交表单时向用户提供反馈。 这里有很多表单验证工具和框架(包括原生HTML5验证),但是我使用了“Bootstrap Validator”,因为它很好地与我们当前的表单集成在一起。 

现在项目结构应该如下所示: 

验证我们的表格

让我们首先启动验证器,在我们提交后检查表单。 回到我们的  scripts.js文件中,我们需要编辑submitForm() 提交表单时调用函数的第一部分代码。 

 我们需要将其更新为以下代码:

这段新的代码检查引导程序验证程序是否发现问题并阻止其进行处理。 如果没有,我们会按照正常情况继续。 我们仍然需要阻止成功提交表单时的默认操作(重新加载页面),因此请继续。

点击提交表单时,如果未填充,现在会导致空白字段以红色突出显示需要输入的内容,这很简单!

在添加此验证的过程中,我们删除或阻止了本机HTML5验证的发生。 我们可以通过添加错误消息来为验证添加更多的上下文。 引导验证器有一个漂亮的功能,可以让每个输入的错误消息非常无缝地显示。 为了添加这些,我们需要添加一些HTML来提供一个地方供他们展示。

在输入框中的每个表单组中,我们应该放置下面的html:

例如,以下是添加到名称和电子邮件字段的额外div:

现在重新提交表格现在应该在字段留空时显示默认错误消息“ 请填写此字段。”。 通过向调用的输入添加数据属性,“data-error”可以包含自定义错误消息。 例如:

还有一大堆其他功能,比如Bootstrap验证器可以接受的正则表达式模式。 您可以在Github上查看更多信息。

添加反馈动画

我们的客户端验证看起来不错; 我们有一些漂亮的效果发生在空白的地方。 但是,向表单添加更多动画并添加更多消息让用户知道发生了什么会很好。 但是,向表单添加更多动画并添加更多消息让用户知道发生了什么会很好。 消息成功,但出现错误,怎么样?

为了利用现有的代码并使我们的脚本更加可重用,我们将修改现有的成功消息以接受错误。

首先,让我们删除“ 提交的消息! “来自HTML的文本,并留下一个空的div:

现在我们需要创建一个新的函数来处理消息状态。 将此功能添加到底部scripts.js

将此功能添加到底部scripts.js valid 将是一个布尔变量:如果它是真的,它将是一个成功消息,false将是一个错误消息。 msg 将成为我们将div在屏幕上显示的信息。

首先,函数通过检查有效值来检查它是处理成功还是错误消息。 在任何一种情况下,它都会使用适当的CSS类设置类变量(我们需要重新包含h3和,text-center因为我们将在后面的函数中删除它们。) 

注意:我们 为消息成功类使用了一些animate.css类。 该tada 动画将在成功播放。

最后,该函数从所有类中删除 #msgSubmit(避免冲突类),然后添加之前设置的类,然后在其中添加消息文本div。

最后,该函数从所有类中删除 #msgSubmit(避免冲突类),然后添加之前设置的类,然后在其中添加消息文本div。

提交带空字段的表单现在应该显示错误消息“ 您是否正确填写表单?“

这个新的submitMSG函数的最后一步是在表单成功时调用它。 将formSuccess()函数更新为以下内容:

首先,我们希望重置表单并清除成功的值,然后submitMSG像以前一样调用我们的函数,并获得成功。 成功提交表单现在应该显示具有奇特animate.css tada 动画效果的反馈消息。

摇动它

什么是更多的动画,对吧? 让我们在错误中添加另一个动画到整个表单,一个通用的“摇动”动画应该是好的!

创建一个新的函数,formSuccess()然后调用它formError()

该函数使用animate.css演示页面上的一种方法,它使我们能够向元素添加动画,然后再次调用/添加动画。 CSS动画有一个令人讨厌的问题,即一旦玩家不再玩游戏,即使该课程被移除并重新添加时,他们一旦玩过它们。 CSS动画有一个令人讨厌的问题,即一旦玩家不再玩游戏,即使该课程被移除并重新添加时,他们一旦玩过它们。 当用户点击不完整的表单提交时,我们想要 shake 播放动画。 如果他们再次提交时,它还是错了,它需要再次演示。

我们可以formError() 在submitMSG()我们为错误消息创建的函数上面调用此函数。 例如:

现在,当我们提交一个空表单时,它会动摇,让用户知道出了什么问题。

莫亚尔验证

所有这些客户端验证都很好,但是任何用户都可以通过在浏览器中编辑代码来禁用这些措施并通过空字段提交表单 做一些服务器端验证总是一个很好的措施,以捕获任何滑过的东西。

打开我们的process.php文件,我们需要对此进行一些更改以检查字段是否为空; 如果不是这样,请将消息发送回前端。 我们将创建一个变量$errorMSG来捕获我们的错误消息,然后包含进一步的$_POST验证。 

我们将创建一个变量$errorMSG来捕获我们的错误消息,然后包含进一步的$_POST验证。  如果它们是空的,我们会设置一条基本信息发送回客户端。 在PHP和JavaScript中,我们可以做的不仅仅是验证字段是否为空(如果太短/太长,请根据正则表达式进行检查)。 但是,为了简单起见,我们现在将其限制为空。

我们需要将错误消息发送回初始的AJAX调用,以便在浏览器中显示。 我们将编辑if我们之前在PHP文件底部创建的语句。

在我们的if声明中,我们还检查是否$errorMSG与我们在$success变量上使用的内置邮件函数的状态一样是空白(“”) 。 在我们的else情况下,我们已经包括进一步检查。 这只是检查错误是否是$success失败的结果,如果发回“ 出错了:( ”。 否则我们显示当我们检查空值时编译的消息。

最后一步是在我们的AJAX中接受这条新消息并将其显示在表单上。 我们需要更新scripts.js文件中的AJAX对象,如下所示:

我们刚刚更新了else检查的条件,看看是否text == success。 在我们else我们已经调用了formError()将应用摇动动画的函数,并且我们已经要求submitMSG()函数显示PHP返回的文本。 返回的文本要么是“ 出错了:(”   或者收到的字段为空。

结论

去Github看看完整的代码 - 我们做了很多!

我们的表格现在应该通过固体验证向用户提供关于哪些字段不正确的反馈。 我们根据PHP的状态和返回的消息提供了上下文消息,并在服务器端实现了一个额外的验证来捕捉那些绕过前端验证的人。 

总体而言,您现在应该有一个非常完善的联系功能,可以将其样式化并集成到您的网站中。 我希望你喜欢这个教程,欢迎在下面的评论中留下任何问题或想法!

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. Bootstrap
Webdesign

Building a Bootstrap Contact Form Using PHP and AJAX

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial I’ll go over the steps to create a working contact form, utilising the ever popular front-end framework Bootstrap, in combination with AJAX and PHP. From there we can explore some additional features such as some fancy CSS animation with animate.css, further validation in JavaScript and refining the user experience with asynchronous content. 

At the time of writing Bootstrap 3.3.5 is the most current version, and it’s worth mentioning that we are using a default build of Bootstrap (with a 12 column layout) for this tutorial. When following along make sure you use the latest snippets and code structures as outlined by the Bootstrap documentation

Looking for a Quick Solution?

If you're looking for a quick solution, there's a great collection of PHP form scripts over at Envato Market. Starting from just a few dollars, they're a great way to get this functionality implemented quickly (with loads of powerful features to boot!)

You can also get an Envato Studio service provider to handle the whole thing for you. For example, you can get a slick AJAX PHP contact form with Google's No Captcha reCaptcha created and added to your site for just $45. 

AJAX PHP contact form

File and Folder Structure 

Firstly, we want to create a root directory and include the following files and folders:

We will need to include some front-end libraries to help us out, so go ahead and download (or externally reference) the following:

Drop in these libraries, so the file structure becomes:

Building the Basics of the Form

Opening up the index.html file, copy the following HTML base structure:

This is our basic html template in which we will build the contents for the form. You can see we have linked all the necessary CSS and JavaScript files (note we don’t actually need bootstrap.js for this particular example). We have included a viewport meta tag to help with our media queries within Bootstrap. The JavaScript has been placed at the bottom of the file to help deliver the core content first.

Within our body tag, we have included a div with a class of col-sm-6 col-sm-offset-3. This basically means within our sm (small) viewport and above we wish to display a column of 50% width (there are a maximum of 12 columns). The col-sm-offset-3 class represents a margin left of 25%, thus producing a layout that is half the available screen viewport and horizontally centred. From here we have included an h3 and started the basics of our form. Make sure to apply an ID to this form so we can attach a jQuery event to this later on.

the offset will push our DIV 25 from the right

No Guts, No Glory

Building the guts of the form we can copy/paste or write the following code within the <form></form> tags:

This is all of the input fields and buttons the user will interactive with. The initial div with the assigned class of row is classic Bootstrap syntax, representing a horizontal grouping of col elements. Columns within Bootstrap create padding or gutters–adding a row around these will remove the padding on the left and right helping them fit perfectly within their container. 

We have created two columns with the col-sm-6 class (50%) which we will use to split our form up. Within the first col-sm-6 we have created a label and field for name, the second is for email. Each of these include a label with an appropriate for attribute so it can target the associated field. Each of these columns includes a form-group that semantically groups the label and field together and applies a small margin to the bottom.

Displaying two fields inline

Typography

Bootstrap allows you to use typography classes from H1-H6. These classeshelp us style inline elements without adding extra margins or creating block elements. We have utilised an H4 to quickly style these labels making them large and clear.

The form-control class applied to each input enables it to span the entire length of the container (width 100%). It also applies various styling to help build an easy to read form element (larger height, flat border etc).

After these columns we include the message body. Again, we wrap this within a form-group and apply similar styles to our label and text area as we did before.

The Call to Action

Finally we include the submit button. Bootstrap has a number of classes for various button and typography colours/states. We have opted to use the “success” button (btn-success) which is, by default, green. Additionally we need to apply the base btn class to reset the basic button features (border, padding, text-align, font-weight). We applied a btn-lg class which makes it a large button and finally a pull-right class which floats this button right.

After our button we have included a div with the id of #msgSubmit and applied the following classes: “h3 text-center hidden”. The h3 helps create a larger heading, text-center (you guessed it) sets the text-alignment to center, and finally we have set the hidden class which sets both display to none and visibility to hidden.

Completed Form

Adding Submission Functionality

As you can see by viewing this in your preferred browser we have created a basic Bootstrap form. However it doesn’t actually do anything just yet. Our next step will be to create the function which takes the users’ inputs and sends them off asynchronously to our PHP mailer.  

Opening up the scripts.js copy the following code:

This bit of code is a jQuery snippet which listens for a submit function on our #contactForm id (as set prior). Upon this function we parse an event variable that stores the submit form action to the function. The event.preventDeafult(); stops the form submitting as it would normally, which would refresh the page as no form action is set. Finally, it requests the submitForm(); function.

submitForm();

Next we build the submitForm(); function as follows:

The three variables being set are grabbing the values of each input from the form and assigning them to a JavaScript variable to be used later. 

We initiate an AJAX object within jQuery and set the parameters of type to post, URL to the PHP file location, the data we wish to send and the success call back function. The data includes all three concatenated variables with an associated id/label. The success call back function is called when the AJAX object successfully receives information back from the PHP script. The function grabs the returned text and checks to see if it equals the string “success”. If so it activates the final function of formSuccess.

The formSuccess function removes the hidden class from the #msgSubmit div that we applied earlier, thus revealing the text.

Hooking it Into the PHP Mail Function

Finally, we need write a PHP script to receive the data and send our content via an inbuilt php mail function. Open process.php and include the following code:

Similar to the jQuery snippet earlier, we need to gather and store the variables we wish to use. From the post function we can gather the three input variables and assign them to similar variable names within PHP. The $EmailTo variable is a pre-defined email address that you can set in the script to send to your email upon form submission. $Subject is a string you wish to use as the email subject.

The email body is built loosely around the three variables established. Firstly setting some descriptive text such as “Name:”, then the variable, then a new line as determined by the /n (new line/line break). This is repeated and concatenated to the $body variable.

To finally send the email we attach it within the mail function. Assigning the variable $success we include the email address it’s being sent to, the subject, the body and the from email.

To initiate the process of sending the email we can call it within an if statement. This also helps check to see if it was a success or not. If the mail function returned “true” the script will return “success”, if it failed it will return “invalid”.

This result will be returned to the AJAX object and handled back on the client side. The beauty of AJAX is that all of this is done asynchronously on the client end, enabling the user to continue to use the site while it’s being sent. 

Spit and Polish

Having covered the basic structure and functionality of our form in the first half of this tutorial, we will now get into the nitty gritty of providing user feedback through various additional features we can include. Specifically, we will cover form feedback through error handling both on the client side and server side. 

Once again, to help with the process of establishing form validation, we will utilise some tools. These include:

Add these into the project as we did with Bootstrap and jQuery earlier. These tools will help provide feedback to the user when they submit the form. There are plenty of form validator tools and frameworks out there (including native HTML5 validation), but I have used the “Bootstrap Validator” as it nicely integrates with our current form. 

The project structure should now look something like this: 

Validating Our Form

Let’s start by initiating the validator to check the form once we submit. Heading back into our scripts.js file we need to edit the first chunk of code that calls the submitForm() function when the form is submitted. 

 We need to update it to the following code:

This new bit of code checks to see if the Bootstrap Validator has found an issue and stopped it from processing. If it hasn't, we continue as per normal. We still need to prevent the default action (reloading the page) on successful submission of the form, so keep that in.

Clicking submit on our form when it’s not completely filled will now cause the empty fields to highlight in red showing what needs to be entered, it’s that easy!

In the process of adding this validation we have removed or prevented native HTML5 validation from taking place. We can add further context to our validation by including error messages. Bootstrap Validator has a nifty feature allowing for error messages for each input to display quite seamlessly. To add these we need to add some further HTML to provide a place for them to display.

Within each form-group under the input we should place the following html:

For example, here is the extra div added to the Name and Email fields:

Re-submitting the form now should now show the default error message when the fields are left blank “Please fill in this field.”. By adding a data-attribute to the input called “data-error” you can include a custom error message. For example:

There is a whole host of other features such as regular expression patterns that Bootstrap validator can accept. You can view more on Github.

Adding Feedback Animation

Our client side validation is looking good; we have some nifty highlights occurring on empty fields. However, it would be good to add further animation to the form and add further messages letting the user know what’s occurring. Currently we have a "Message Submitted!" message appearing on success, but what about on an error?

To utilise existing code and make our scripts a bit more reusable we will modify the existing success message to accept errors too.

First things first, let’s remove the “Message Submitted!” text from the HTML and just leave an empty div:

We will now need to create a new function to handle the message status. Add this function to the bottom of the scripts.js

This function takes two arguments. valid will be a Boolean variable: if it’s true it will be a success message, false will be an error message. msg will be the message we will display in the div on screen.

Firstly the function checks to see if it’s dealing with a success or an error message by checking the value of valid. In either case it sets the class variable with the appropriate CSS classes (we need to re-include the h3 and text-center as we will be removing these by default later in the function.) 

Note: we’re using some animate.css classes for the message success class. The tada animation will be played on success.

Finally, the function removes all classes from #msgSubmit (avoids clashing classes), then adds the classes set prior, and then adds the message text inside the div.

Inside our validator initiation we updated at the start of this section we can add the following function call inside the if statement when it’s equal to true.

Submitting the form with empty fields should now display the error message “Did you fill in the form properly?"

One last step for this new submitMSG function is to call it for when our form is successful. Update the formSuccess() function to the following:

Firstly we want to reset the form and clear the values on success, then we call our submitMSG function as before with a success message. Successfully submitting the form should now display the success message with a fancy animate.css tada animation effect.

Shake it

What’s one more animation, right? Let’s add another animation to the entire form on error, a universal “shaking” animation should be good!

Create a new function just after formSuccess() and call it formError()

This function uses an approach found on the animate.css demo page that enables us to add an animation to an element and then re-call/add it again and again. CSS animations have a pesky issue in which once they are played once they tend to not play again, even when the class is removed and re-added. This function helps reset the classes on animation end, enabling you to re-add them again. When the user clicks submit on an incomplete form we want the shake animation to play. And if they submit it again when it’s still wrong it needs to play again.

We can call this formError() function above the submitMSG() function we created for an error message. For example:

Now when we submit an empty form it will shake to let the user know something has gone wrong.

Moar Validation

All of this client side validation is good, however any user could disable these measures and submit the form with empty fields by editing the code within their browser. It’s always a good measure to do some server side validation, to capture anything that slips past.

Opening our process.php file we need to make some changes to this to check if the fields are empty; if they are not, send back a message to the front-end. We will create a variable called $errorMSG to capture our error messages and then include further $_POST validation. 

This PHP checks to see if they are empty before setting them as the corresponding variable (replaces the existing code setting the variables from $_POST). If they are empty we then set a basic message to send back to the client. We can do a lot more than just validate the fields against being empty (If it’s too short/long check it against regular expressions etc.) in PHP and JavaScript. However, for the sake of simplicity, we will restrict it just to empty fields for now.

We need to send back the error message to the initial AJAX call to be displayed in the browser. We will edit the if statement we created earlier at the bottom of the PHP file.

In our if statement we also check to see if the $errorMSG is blank ( "" ) alongside the status of the inbuilt mail function we used on $success variable. In our else condition we have included a further check. This just checks to see if the error was a result of the $success failing, if so send back “Something went wrong :(“. Else we display the message that was compiled when we checked for empty values.

One last step is to accept this new message in our AJAX and display it on the form. We need to update the AJAX object within the scripts.js file as follows:

We have just updated the else condition which checks to see if text == success. In our else we have called the formError() function which will apply the shake animation and we have asked for the submitMSG() function to display the returned text back from the PHP. The text returned will either be “Something went wrong :(”  or the fields it received empty.

Conclusion

Head on over to Github to take a look at the code in its entirety–we’ve done a lot!

Our form should now provide the user with some feedback on what fields are incorrect via solid validation. We provided contextual messages based upon the status and the returned message from PHP, and implemented an extra layer of validation on the server end to catch those who bypass the front end validation. 

Overall you should now have a very sound contact form ready to be styled and integrated into your website. I hope you enjoyed this tutorial, please feel free to leave any questions or thoughts in the comments below!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.