Unlimited Wordpress themes, plugins, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. Gravit Designer
Webdesign

الشروع في العمل مع مصمم الجاذبية

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Muhammad Hasrullah (you can also view the original English article)

مصمم الجاذبية هو، في رأيي، الموجه الكبيرة القادمة برنامج تحرير. وهو الصف المستخدم ودية، والمهنية، وعبر منصة حقاً حيث أنه يعمل في المستعرض، لينكس، ماك، تشروميوس والنوافذ، وفي وقت لاحق ستكون متاحة في أي باد والروبوت جداً. قيد التطوير النشط مع الميزات الجديدة التي يتم إضافتها بمعدل سريع.

وعلى رأس ذلك كله، كما أنها 100 ٪ مجاناً مع لا طرق تسييل إعلانية أو تدخلية. على حد تعبير أليكس من الجاذبية، ردا على سؤال عما إذا كان البرنامج سوف تظل حرة:

"نعم بالتأكيد سوف تبقى حرة والشلل ابدأ بالغباء فريميوم أو أيا كان. قد نقدم لاحقاً بعض الأشياء الإضافية للفرق التي يمكن أن تدفع (كما أننا بحاجة إلى دفع تلك الفواتير الخادم أيضا) ولكن المصمم ستبقى حرة كما نحن نريد أن تكون قادرة على الحصول على حق الوصول إلى أداة تصميم حر، برو الجميع. "

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي سوف يأخذك من خلال الميزات التي تجعل المصمم الجاذبية واعدة جداً. ونحن لن ندخل أيضا في الأعشاب ووضع كل أداة تحت المجهر، بدلاً من ذلك سوف نلقي نظرة عامة على حتى تحصل على فكرة إمكانية أفضل لما هو مدرج في هذا البرنامج. دعونا نبدأ!

تثبيت وتشغيل أول

إذا كنت ترغب في استخدام أحد إصدارات سطح المكتب من الجاذبية لرئيس designer.io/#download والاستيلاء على المثبت لنظام التشغيل الخاص بك. (لاحظ أنه في الوقت الحاضر يوجد خلل في القوائم المنسدلة في البناء لينكس، حتى الآن جميع طيور البطريق قد تفضل استخدام إصدار المستعرض بدلاً من ذلك).

لأولئك الذين يفضلون استخدام المستعرض الإصدار، التي تتمتع بميزة يجري دائماً أكثر ما يصل إلى تاريخ، وفي هذه اللحظة قد تعطي أفضل الأداء – الذهاب إلى: designer.gravit.io/

من البداية الحصول على أشياء باردة. نحن كنت استقبل شاشة ترحيب أن يمنحنا الخيار لتعيين الارتفاع المفضل وعرض لوثيقة لدينا. ومع ذلك يمكننا أيضا ترك حقول الطول والعرض فارغة وسيكون لدينا قماش لا حصر لها؛ ميزة رائعة عندما كنت غير متأكد من ما حجم التصميم الخاص بك سوف يكون.

أيضا في هذه الشاشة الأولى نحصل على مجموعات معرفة مسبقاً أكثر من خمسين من الأبعاد الاختيار من بينها، مع تسعة عشر الإعدادات المسبقة للطباعة، ثمانية لموقع على شبكة الإنترنت تصميم وخمسة عشر ليغطي الإعلام الاجتماعي والمحتوى، وستة للهواتف والساعات، وسبعة لأقراص.

فضلا عن ذلك، إذا قمت بالتسجيل مجاناً حساب سحابة الجاذبية يمكنك الحصول على إمكانية الوصول إلى مجموعة جديدة من قوالب جاهزة بالنقر فوق الجديد من قالب علامة التبويب على الجانب الأيسر من شاشة الترحيب.

عدد قليل الجاذبية في premade القوالب الاجتماعية وسائل الإعلام

هنا ستجد خمسين الرسومات وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية جاهزة للاستخدام، عروض الشرائح ستة وثلاثون، ملصقات ثمانية عشر، أربع وعشرون فيسبوك وظيفة الرسومات، الرسومات بلوق ثلاثة وعشرون، ستة وعشرون A4 الملصقات، وعشرين بطاقة الرسومات. هذه كل شيء جاهزاً للاستخدام كما أنها، أو يمكن استخدامها كقاعدة للتكرار على. هذه المجموعة العلامة التجارية الجديدة اعتبارا من سوى بضعة أسابيع، لذلك نتوقع أن تنمو مع مرور الوقت.

نظرة عامة على واجهة سريعة

والحمد لله، واجهة مصمم الجاذبية بديهية جداً حيث لا ينبغي أن تجد نفسك لا سيما فقدت حتى إذا ذهبت في الأعمى لاستكشاف البرنامج. ومع ذلك سيتعين علينا لمحة سريعة عن المكونات الرئيسية.

أول شيء قد ترغب في معرفته هو أن الواجهة لا يجب أن تكون أرجوانية. إذا قمت بحفر اللون الأرجواني يمكنك تركه كما هو ، ولكن إذا كنت تفضل واجهة مستخدم أحادية اللون ، فانتقل إلى القائمة الرئيسية في الزاوية العلوية اليسرى ، واختر Edit> Settings ، ثم حدد "Dark Theme" أو "Light Theme".

المستخدمين لرسم سوف تجد الواجهة مألوفة نوعا ما كالتخطيط مشابه جداً. عبر الجزء العلوي لدينا لدينا الأدوات مع جميع الأدوات التي تتوقع أن تجد في تطبيق ناقلات الأمراض، مثل حركة اللوحة القماشية والتقاط عناصر التحكم، إنشاء المسار والنص واختيار الأدوات والشكل التقليب والتناوب، شكل متعدد العمليات، التحكم ترتيب التراص، و التصدير وعرض مفاتيح الاختصار. لاحظ أيضا أن وثائق متعددة يمكن فتحها في وقت واحد، وسوف تكون مرئية عبر علامات التبويب إلى أعلى اليمين.

Gravit menu options

على الجانب الأيسر ، لدينا ثلاث علامات تبويب: الطبقات والمكتبات والبرامج التعليمية. تعد علامة التبويب "البرامج التعليمية" (المقرر نقلها إلى "تعليمات" في شريط القوائم مع الإصدار 3.2.) رائعة لتوجيهك عندما تدخل لأول مرة باستخدام Gravit. علامة التبويب مكتبات توفر لك مجموعة واسعة من السحب والإفلات الأصول – هذه بالإضافة إلى القوالب تحدثنا عنه أعلاه. علامة التبويب الطبقات ما يجب عليك فتح أكثر من المرة، كما أنه يعرض قائمة بالصفحات الخاصة بك، (أكثر على صفحات قريبا)، وبطبيعة الحال، الطبقات الخاصة بك.

على الجانب الأيمن لديك عناصر التصميم المحددة السياق الخاص بك الكائن المحدد حاليا. إذا كان لا شيء محدداً، سيتم عرض إعدادات المستند بدلاً من ذلك.

صفحات؛ مثل ألواح الرسم مع مكافأة "باور بوينت"

صفحات في مصمم الجاذبية هي شيء من الهجين للصفحات وألواح الرسم قد تجدها في التطبيقات الأخرى. كل صفحة مثل مستند مكتفية ذاتيا، بأبعادها الخاصة، تنزف، الهامش وقماش إعدادات الألوان. يمكنك البدء بصفحة واحدة بشكل افتراضي وإضافة المزيد بالنقر فوق الزر "إنشاء صفحة جديدة" صغيرة في الأعلى اليمين من لوحة الصفحات. ثم يمكنك عرض أي صفحة عن طريق تحديده في هذا الفريق.

إذا كنت ترغب في استخدام صفحات كما كنت عادة استخدام ألواح الرسم، تنشيط تبديل إلى يسار أيقونة الحذف وسترى جميع الصفحات الخاصة بك في وقت واحد في وضع "متعدد". يمكن تحديد هذه الصفحات أو نقله، يدوياً تغيير حجمها أو تغيير لمختلف الأحجام مسبقاً فقط كما لو كانت المستندات الفردية. في وضع التكاثر ، يمكنك أيضًا تكرار الصفحات عن طريق النقر على عنوانها على اللوحة القماشية لتحديدها ، ثم ALT + سحب أو الضغط على CTRL / CMD + D.

صفحات الجاذبية لديك أيضا ميزة "الصفحات الرئيسية" رهيبة. مع هذه الميزة يمكنك إعداد صفحة بمثابة "صفحة رئيسية"، مع عناصر مثل الخلفيات أو الرؤوس التي سوف تكون مشتركة إلى صفحات أخرى. ثم يمكنك تعيين تلك الصفحات الأخرى الاستفادة من هذه الصفحة الرئيسية، في كل من محتواه، التي تقوم بإنشاء عناصر إضافية. عندما تقوم بتحديث العناصر الموجودة في الصفحة الرئيسية، سيتم تحديث كافة الصفحات الأخرى في الوقت الحقيقي أيضا.

وفي سمة باردة جداً، باستخدام صفحات للجاذبية على الفور لديك القدرة على إنشاء عرض تقديمي Powerpoint "مثل". فقط انقر فوق الزر "تشغيل" في أقصى اليمين من شريط الأدوات، ويصبح كل من الصفحات الخاصة بك شريحة. ضرب السهم لأسفل للانتقال إلى الشريحة التالية، والسهم لأعلى للعودة.

الجاذبية تشغيل العرض التقديمي

المسارات والأشكال

وقد خلق الشكل والمسار في الجاذبية الأدوات المألوفة التي تتوقعها في أي برنامج رسومات المتجهات. لدينا أداة القلم القياسية لرسم خطوط مستقيمة ومنحنيات بيزيه، وسلسلة من أدوات الأشكال المعرفة مسبقاً للخطوط والمستطيلات، والحذف، والمضلعات، مثلثات والنجوم.

ولكن لدينا أيضا أداة إضافية التي مفيدة جداً، وهذا هو أداة بيزيجون. إذا كنت اضغط باستمرار ALT بينما تضع النقاط باستخدام أداة بيزيجون، سيتم تلقائياً إنشاء منحنيات متجانسة حول كل نقطة.

حالما يتم رسم المسارات والأشكال يمكن لها خصائصها غيرت في العمود على الجانب الأيمن. يمكن تعيين مسارات منتظمة إلى مفتوحة أو مغلقة، مما يجعل من السهل ﻹغﻻق طريق الذي لم يكن تماما إكمال بشكل صحيح، أو لفتح طريق من أجل الاستمرار في إضافة نقاط. الحصول على الإعدادات الخاصة بالسياق، مثل القدرة على تحويل علامات الحذف في تخطيط دائري مثل الأشكال، الأشكال أو تعيين عدد نقاط مضلع أو ينبغي أن يكون ستار.

نص عادي، والنص على مسار

وتعمل أداة النص أيضا كما يمكنك أن قد حان لنتوقع من استخدام التطبيقات الأخرى. مع تحديد أداة النص يمكنك النقر فوق نقطة البدء في كتابة بعض النص الحجم بشكل حيوي، أو يمكنك النقر واسحب لرسم خارج مربع النص الخاص بك سوف تكون مقيدة داخل.

والميزة التي ستكون سوبر مفيدة لمصممي الويب، إذا قمت بكتابة "أبجد" ثم اضغط الفضاء ستحصل على فقرة من نص العنصر النائب "أبجد هوز" التي تم إنشاؤها لك تلقائياً.

وجود النص اتبع مسار من السهل للغاية مع الجاذبية. مجرد رسم المسار أو الشكل، ثم قم بتحديد أداة النص، قم بالمرور عبر المسار الخاص بك حتى تشاهد خط أحمر يظهر على طول، انقر فوق. هذا سوف إنشاء مثيل لبعض النصوص التالية التي سوف تتبع شكل المسار. يمكن تعديل المسار بعد ذلك وسيتم تحديث النص الشكل المقابل.

عندما تقوم بتحديد النص الذي قمت بوضعه على مسار يمكنك أيضا الوصول إلى تبديل في عمود الجانب الأيمن لتعيين النص داخل أو خارج المسار، وعكس النص. وهناك طريقة بسيطة لتحديد موضع النص--فقط انقر واسحب علامة برتقالية قليلاً في بداية النص، وهذا هو كل ما يتطلبه الأمر.

الخطوط المتكاملة جوجل

سوف يكون معظم المصممين على الخط على شبكة الإنترنت مرحًا على مدار عدة مرات قبل: انتقل إلى Google Fonts ، أو اختر خطًا ، أو تنزيله ، أو تثبيته ، أو (إعادة تشغيل تطبيق التصميم في بعض الحالات) ، حدد الخط في تطبيق التصميم ، كرر إذا كان لا يبدو صحيحًا. أو ربما نستخدم Skyfonts بدلاً من ذلك لتخطي خطوة "التنزيل والتثبيت".

ولكن في مصمم الجاذبية هو التحديد جوجل الخط بأكمله المضمنة المتوفرة، من خارج منطقة الجزاء، حتى باستخدام الخطوط على شبكة الإنترنت بالضبط نفس السهولة على استخدام الخطوط العادية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكنك استيراد الخطوط الخاصة بك عند استخدام إصدار ويب من الجاذبية مع الملف > استيراد > إضافة الخطوط...

بالطبع لا يعني وجود خطوط ويب لا يمكنك استخدام خطوط النظام--طالما كنت تستخدم إصدار سطح مكتب من الجاذبية جميع الخطوط المحلية الخاصة بك سوف تكون متاحة أيضا.

تعبئات وحدود متعددة

شيئا أحب في الجاذبية، والمستخدمين رسم ميزة أخرى سوف يكون على دراية، تعبئات وحدود متعددة. في العديد من التطبيقات إذا كنت ترغب في إنشاء تأثيرات المركب عن طريق وضع، على سبيل المثال، الضوضاء على التبليط الصور عبر الألوان المسطحة، تحتاج إلى تكرار الشكل الهدف الخاص بك في كل مرة. في الجاذبية التي لغير ضروري لأنه يمكنك إضافة العديد من التعبئات والحدود كما تريد بأي شكل معين:

كل التعبئة أو الحدود يتصرف مثل طبقة منفصلة، مع وضعه أظهرت أو مخفية، مزج الوضع، وإعدادات العتامة الكثير. يمكن أيضا فرز يملأ في أي أمر تريد. وأنه يمكنك استخدام استخدام الألوان المسطحة، صورة القوام، والتدرجات أو الضوضاء هناك الكثير من الغرفة للإبداع.

الآثار؛ أفضل من أنماط الطبقة

الآثار في الجاذبية بالكثير مثل تأثيرات الطبقة لك أن تكون على دراية من التطبيقات الأخرى، ولكن الكثير من مثل التعبئات والحدود لم تكن تقتصر على تأثير واحد كل طبقة؛ يمكن أن يكون لديك العديد كما تريد.

وتشمل آثار الأسعار القياسية الظل المسقط (الزوجي كالتوهج الخارجي)، والظل الداخلي (الزوجي توهج داخلي) وتراكب (لون أو تدرج). غير ضرورية بالطبع آثار السكتة الدماغية والتراكبات نمط سبب الجاذبية لتعبئة القائمة وأدوات السكتة الدماغية. ولكن هناك أيضا بعض تأثيرات إضافية مثيرة للاهتمام حقاً مثل "مرآة"، مما يخلق تأثير انعكاس أسفل الشكل، أو "منحنى الظل"، مما يخلق ظل مثل هذا:

وهناك أيضا طمس غاوسي، المقالة القصيرة وتأثير recoloring منزلق هوي بسيطة وأكثر في عمق لون تأثير التكيف. كل هذه الآثار يمكن الطبقات وتكوينها ولكن كنت ترغب في ذلك، ثم أنب وتشكيلها عند أي نقطة في عملية التصميم.

الأنماط المشتركة؛ للدول وتوفير الوقت

الجاذبية لديه القدرة على إنشاء الأنماط التي تحدد طبقة التعبئة والحدود، والآثار وإعدادات النص. هذه الأنماط قد اثنين من التطبيقات المفيدة فائقة.

واحد، يمكنك إنشاء أنماط لتمثيل مختلف الدول على الشكل نفسه، مثل شكل افتراضي الزر وتحوم المظهر على سبيل المثال. اثنين، يمكنك تطبيق نمط على كائنات متعددة في لوحة الرسم القماشية، ثم عندما تقوم بتحديث النمط على واحد من هذه الكائنات يمكن لديك أنها تنطبق على جميع الأشخاص الآخرين، وكذلك.

المراسي للاستجابة شبه

إعدادات الربط تسمح لك لتحديد كيف ينبغي أن تستجيب شكل عند حجمها الأصلي، الذي بدوره يسمح لك بإنشاء وظائف شبه متجاوبة وتوفر لك مجموعة كاملة من الوقت.

صفحة مكررة (أعلى) الرأسية العلوي والسفلي والمركز الأفقي للتحكم في رده على أحد الوالدين تم تغيير حجمها

على سبيل المثال، إذا كنت تقوم بإنشاء واجهة المستخدم التي يحتاجها للعمل على أحجام الشاشة متعددة، يمكنك إنشاء التخطيط في حجم واحد ثم تعيين نقاط الربط التحكم في كيفية عناصر التصميم ينبغي أن تمتد، وتقليص أو نقل عند تغيير حجم المستند. ثم يمكن أن تجعل نسخة مكررة من الصفحة الحالية وتغيير حجمه، إبقاء غالبية التصميم الخاص بك الموجودة في براعة دون الحاجة لإعادته.

وفي ختام

مصمم الجاذبية بالفعل برامج رائعة، وأنها تبشر بخير قوية جداً لما هو ات. في الإصدار القادم، الإصدار 3.2، سنرى بإدراج الرموز، والتي قد تكون قطعة اللغز المتطلبات النهائية لبعض المستخدمين. للحصول على نظرة على كل شيء الخروج في الفترة المقبلة تحقق إصدارات قليلة من خارطة الطريق.

الجاذبية قوية ومرنة، والبلدان المتقدمة النمو بنشاط، حقاً عبر منصة ومجانية تماما. لذا أيا كان السبب الخاص بك للعمل مع متجهات، مصمم الجاذبية يستحق الوقت الخاص بك للتحقق على الإطلاق.

للتعرف على مزيد من زيارة: designer.io.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. Gravit Designer
Webdesign

Getting Started With Gravit Designer

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Gravit Designer is, in my opinion, the next big vector editing program. It’s user friendly, professional grade, and truly cross platform in that it works in the browser, on Linux, Mac, ChromeOS and Windows, and will at a later date be available on iPad and Android too. It’s under active development with new features being added at a fast rate.

And on top of all that, it’s also 100% free with no advertising or intrusive monetization methods. In the words of Alex from Gravit, when asked if the program will remain free:

“Yes it will definitely stay free and never be crippled by stupid fremium or whatever. We later might offer some additional stuff for teams which might be paid (as we need to pay those server bills too) but the Designer will stay free as we want everyone to be able to get access to a free, pro design tool.”

In this tutorial I’ll take you through the features that make Gravit Designer so promising. We won’t get too into the weeds and put every tool under the microscope, rather we’ll take a broad overview so you get the best possible idea of what’s included in this software. Let’s begin!

Install and First Run

If you’d like to use one of the desktop versions of Gravit head to designer.io/#download and grab the installer for your OS. (Note that at the moment there’s a bug in the dropdown menus on the Linux build, so for now all you penguins might prefer to use the browser version instead).

For those who would prefer to use the browser version–which has the advantage of always being the most up to date, and at the moment may give better performance–go to: designer.gravit.io/

Right from the start things get cool. We’re greeted with a welcome screen that gives us the option to set a preferred height and width for our document. However we can also leave the height and width fields empty and our canvas will be infinite; a fantastic feature for when you’re unsure of what size your design is going to be.

Also on this first screen we get over fifty predefined sets of dimensions to choose from, with nineteen presets for print, eight for website design, fifteen for social media covers and content, six for phones and watches, and seven for tablets.

As well as that, if you sign up for free Gravit Cloud account you can get access to the new range of premade templates by clicking on the New from Template tab on the left side of the welcome screen.

A few of Gravit’s premade social media templates

In here you’ll find fifty social media graphics ready to use, thirty-six slide presentations, eighteen posters, twenty-four Facebook post graphics, twenty-three blog graphics, twenty-six A4 posters, and twenty card graphics. These are all ready for use as they are, or can be used as a base to iterate on. This collection is brand new as of only a couple of weeks ago, so expect it to grow as time goes on.

Quick Interface Overview

Thankfully, the interface of Gravit Designer is quite intuitive so you shouldn’t find yourself particularly lost even if you go in blind to explore the software. Nonetheless we’ll have a quick overview of the key components.

The first thing you might want to know is that the interface doesn’t have to be purple. If you dig the purple you can leave it as is, but if you prefer a monochrome UI go up to the main menu at the top left corner, choose Edit > Settings and select either “Dark Theme” or “Light Theme”.

Users of Sketch will find the interface somewhat familiar as the layout is very similar. Across the top we have our toolbar with all the tools you’d expect to find in a vector app, such as canvas movement and snapping controls, path and text creation and selection tools, shape flipping and rotating, multi-shape operations, stacking order control, and export and presentation hotkeys. Note also that multiple documents can be open at once and will be visible via tabs towards the top right.

Gravit menu options

On the left side we have three tabs: Layers, Libraries and Tutorials. The tutorials tab (due to be moved to Help in the menu bar with version 3.2.) is great for guidance when you’re first getting into using Gravit. The libraries tab provides you with an extensive collection of drag and drop assets–these are in addition to the templates we talked about above. The layers tab is what you’ll have open most of the time, as it displays a list of your pages, (more on pages shortly), and, of course, your layers.

On the right side you have context specific design controls for your currently selected object. If nothing is selected, the document settings will be displayed instead.

Pages; Like Artboards With Bonus “Powerpoint”

Pages in Gravit Designer are something of a hybrid of the pages and artboards you might find in other applications. Each page is like a self-contained document, with its own dimensions, bleed, margin and canvas color settings. You start with a single page by default and add more by clicking the little Create New Page button at the top right of the Pages panel. You can then view any page by selecting it in that panel.

If you want to use pages as you would generally use artboards, activate the toggle to the left of the delete icon and you’ll see all your pages at once in “Multipage mode”. These pages can be selected, moved, manually resized, or changed to different preset sizes just as though they were individual documents. In multipage mode you can also duplicate pages by clicking their title on the canvas to select them, then either ALT + dragging or pressing CTRL / CMD + D.

Gravit pages also have the awesome “Master Pages” feature. With this feature you can setup a page to act as a “master page”, with elements like backgrounds or headers that will be common to other pages. Then you can set those other pages to draw from this master page, bringing in all of its content, over which you create additional elements. When you update the elements in the master page, all the other pages will update in real time too.

And in a very cool feature, by using Gravit’s pages you instantly have the ability to create a “Powerpoint-like” presentation. Just click the Play button at the far right of the toolbar and each of your pages becomes a slide. Hit the down arrow to go to the next slide, and the up arrow to go back.

Gravit playing a presentation

Paths and Shapes

Path and shape creation in Gravit has the familiar tools you’d expect in any vector graphics program. We have the standard pen tool for drawing straight lines and bezier curves, and a series of predefined shape tools for lines, rectangles, ellipses, polygons, triangles and stars.

However we also have an extra tool that’s quite helpful, and that’s the bezigon tool. If you hold down ALT while laying down points with the bezigon tool, smooth curves will be automatically generated around each point.

Once paths and shapes are drawn they can have their properties altered in the right side column. Regular paths can be set to open or closed, making it easy to close off a path that wasn’t quite completed correctly, or to open a path in order to continue adding points. Shapes get context-specific settings, such as the ability to convert ellipses into pie chart like shapes, or set the number of points a polygon or star should have.

Regular Text, and Text on a Path

The text tool also works as you would have come to expect from using other applications. With the text tool selected you can click on a point to start typing out some dynamically sized text, or you can click and drag to draw out a box your text will be constrained within.

And in a feature that will be super helpful for web designers, if you type “lorem” then press SPACE you’ll get a paragraph of “Lorem ipsum” placeholder text generated for you automatically.

Having text follow a path is extremely easy with Gravit. Just draw out any path or shape, select the text tool, hover over your path until you see a red line appear along it, then click. This will instantiate some next text that will follow the shape of the path. The path can be modified afterwards and the text will update its shape correspondingly.

When you select the text that you’ve placed on a path you also get access to toggles in the right side column to set the text on the inside or outside of the path, and to reverse the text. And there is a simple way to position the text - just click and drag the little orange marker at the beginning of the text and that’s all it takes.

Integrated Google Fonts

Most designers will have been on the web font merry-go-round several times before: go to Google Fonts, pick out a font, download it, install it, (restart design app in some cases), select the font in the design app, repeat if it doesn’t look right. Or perhaps we might just use Skyfonts instead to skip the “download and install” step.

However in Gravit Designer the entire Google Font selection is available inline, out of the box, so using web fonts is exactly as easy as using regular fonts.

Additionally, you can import your own fonts when using the web version of Gravit with File > Import > Add fonts...

Of course the presence of web fonts doesn’t mean you can’t use system fonts–as long as you’re using a desktop version of Gravit all your local fonts will be available as well.

Multiple Fills and Strokes

Something I love in Gravit, and another feature Sketch users will be familiar with, is multiple fills and strokes. In many applications if you want to create composite effects by placing, for example, noise over tiling images over flat color, you need to duplicate your target shape each time. In Gravit that’s not necessary because you can add as many fills and borders as you want to any given shape:

Each fill or border behaves much like a separate layer, with its own shown or hidden status, blending mode, and opacity settings. Fills can also be sorted into any order you like. And because you can use use flat colors, image textures, gradients or noise there is a lot of room for creativity.

Effects; Better Than Layer Styles

Effects in Gravit are a lot like the layer effects you’ll be familiar with from other applications, but much like fills and strokes you are not limited to one effect per layer; you can have as many as you want.

Effects include the standard fare of drop shadow (doubles as outer glow), inner shadow (doubles as inner glow), and overlay (color or gradient). Stroke effects and pattern overlays are of course unnecessary due to Gravit’s existing fill and stroke tools. However there are also some really interesting additional effects like “mirror”, which creates a reflection effect below the shape, or “curved shadow”, which creates a shadow like this: 

There is also a gaussian blur, a vignette, a simple hue slider recoloring effect, and a more in depth color adjustment effect. All these effects can be layered and configured however you like, then tweaked and reconfigured at any point in the design process.

Shared Styles; for States and Time Saving

Gravit has the ability to create styles that define a layer’s fill, border, effects and text settings. These styles have a couple of super beneficial applications.

One, you can create styles to represent different states on the same shape, such as a button’s default and hover appearance for example. Two, you can apply a style to multiple objects on the canvas then when you update the style on one of those objects you can have it apply to all the others as well.

Anchors for Semi-Responsiveness

Anchor settings allow you to define how a shape should respond when its parent is resized, which in turn allows you to create semi-responsive functionality and save you a whole bunch of time.

Duplicate page (top) anchored top, bottom and horizontal center to control its response to a resized parent

For example, if you’re creating a UI that needs to work on multiple screen sizes, you could create your layout at one size then set anchor points to control how the design’s elements should stretch, shrink or move when the document size changes. You could then make a duplicate of the current page and resize it, keeping the majority of your existing design in tact without needing to redo it.

Wrapping Up

Gravit Designer is already fantastic software, and it shows very strong promise for what’s to come. In the next release, version 3.2, we’ll see the inclusion of symbols, which for some users might be the final piece of the requirements puzzle. To get a look at everything coming up in the next few versions check out the roadmap.

Gravit is powerful, flexible, actively developed, truly cross platform, and completely free of charge. So whatever your reason for working with vectors, Gravit Designer is absolutely worth your while to check out.

To learn more visit: designer.io.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.