Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. Project Management
Webdesign

كيفية إدارة مشروع تصميم الويب مع Paymo

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Sponsored Content

This sponsored post features a product relevant to our readers while meeting our editorial guidelines for being objective and educational.

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Maryam Abbas (you can also view the original English article)

دعونا نكون واقعيين ونقر بأن إدارة مشروع تصميم الويب يمكن أن تكون معقدًة وتستنزف الوقت. سوف تتعامل مع العديد من المهام المختلفة وأعضاء الفريق وتواريخ الاستحقاق والموارد وتوقعات العملاء كل ذلك في نفس الوقت.

هذا هو السبب في أن معرفة الأدوات والأساليب والخدع التي يمكن استخدامها منذ البداية يمكن أن تساعدك في الحفاظ على مشروعك ومستويات تفكيرك على المسار الصحيح. يمكن لحل واحد لإدارة مشروع أن يساعد في وضع كل ذلك بالترتيب وأن يوفر لك الوقت للتركيز بشكل أكبر على حجم العمل الحقيقي.

سأساعدك في إدارة مشروعك الأول لتصميم الويب في Paymo، وهو برنامج إدارة عمل كامل المزايا يساعدك على التخطيط لمشاريعك وتتبعها وفوترتها بسهولة.

اهم الاشياء اولا. دعنا نلقي نظرة على الأشياء التي يجب أن تراقبها قبل أن تصل إلى العمل الفعلي.

الاجتماع بالعميل

ابدأ باجتماع مبدئي مع العميل للتخطيط لجميع المتطلبات الحالية والميزانيات. تعرف على كل ما هو مهم لعملائك وما هي أهدافهم وما يجب تجنبه بكل الوسائل. 

يجب توثيق كل ما تناقشه مع عميلك لضمان الشفافية بين كلا الفريقين. لهذا الغرض، يمكنك صياغة مسودة لحالة العمل في ملف Word أو Google Docs. يمكنك بعد ذلك إرفاق هذا الملف بالمشروع في Paymo حتى يمكنك الرجوع إليه في أي وقت لتجنب ترك أي جوانب حيوية أو متطلبات للعميل بدون تنفيذ في المشروع.

عرض الاسعار

بالإضافة إلى المتطلبات وتفاصيل المشروع الأخرى، من الواضح أن العميل مهتم بمعرفة كم سيكلف المشروع. إن تقديم عرض أسعار لعميلك ليس مهمة سهلة - خاصة إذا كانت هذه هي المرة الأولى التي تقوم فيها بذلك.

في Paymo، هناك طريقة خالية من المشكلات تساعدك على إنشاء تقدير واقعي للتكلفة. أولاً، قم بتدوين جميع أنشطة المشروع التي تحتاج إلى إكمالها في منطقة مهام المشروع ضمن عرض بسيط. من اجل كل نشاط، أضف ميزانية زمنية ومعدل كنقطة مرجعية. هذا سيكون بمثابة مشروعك المؤقت في الوقت الحالي.

temporary project

بعد ذلك، انقر فوق الزر Convert to Estimate لتحويل المشروع المؤقت إلى تقدير. ستعمل المنصة تلقائيًا على إتمام جميع ميزانيات المهام والتكاليف المقدرة، بحيث لا تحتاج إلى إضافتها مرة أخرى من الصفر.

Convert to Estimate

يمكنك أيضًا اختيارعرض كل المهام كبند منفصل أو تجميعها حسب قائمة المهام الموافقة لها. بمجرد حفظها، يمكنك مشاركتها مع العميل كجزء من عرض الاسعار الرسمي بطريقتين: من خلال الرابط الدائم في أسفل التقدير أو كملف PDF قابل للطباعة.

share estimate with the client as part of a formal quote

سيكون لدى العميل الآن فكرة تقريبية عن تكلفة المشروع وما الذي يدفعه بالضبط. ما يتبقى هو أن يراجعه العميل ويقبله أو يرفضه. إن وجود قائمة مرتبة على مرأى من الجميع سيجعل الأمر أكثر سهولة بالنسبة لهم لمعرفة ما إذا كانوا قد فشلوا في ملاحظة شيء مهم من قبل.

بمجرد قبول العرض النهائي، يمكنك الانتقال إلى قسم التخطيط عندما يصبح مشروعك المؤقت حقيقيًا.

تخطيط

لا تبدأ مطلقًا مشروعًا بدون وجود خطة تتبعها. يوضح التصميم المبني جيدًا جميع الجوانب التي تحتاج إلى فهمها وتطويرها أثناء تنفيذ المشروع. فكر في خطة مشروعك كخريطة توضح كلاً من قراراتك والمخاطر التي قد تؤدي إلى اختصار وقت مشروعك أو تأجيل تاريخ انتهائه.

لقد حان الوقت الآن لمراجعة المهام التي سبق إضافتها وتنظيمها بشكل أفضل استنادًا إلى أوجه التشابه بينها في قوائم مهام مفصلة بشكل واضح. تساعدك هذه الإرشادات على توجيه مختلف أعضاء الفريق، والمواعيد النهائية، والموارد، والمشاريع في وقت واحد.

Task list example
مثال على قائمة المهام

للحصول على خطة مشروع دقيقة، ارجع إلى منطقة مهام المشروع وقم بتعيين المستخدمين لكل نشاط، إلى جانب تواريخ الاستحقاق والأولويات والمهام الفرعية المحتملة في حالة كانت المهمة بحاجة إلى مزيد من التفصيل. لا تنسَ كتابة توصيفات موجزة للمهام لتوضيح كيفية تنفيذ المهام ومنع أي سوء فهم.

لمواكبة العمل في جميع مراحل المشروع، قم بإنشاء سير عمل لكل مشروع:

Example of a web design workflow
مثال على سيرعمل لتصميم الويب

يمكن القيام بذلك من خلال لوحات Kanban التي تعرض لك حالة كل مهمة وإذا كانت هناك أي اختناقات محتملة في العملية. ستحسن اللوحات المرئية كما في اللوحة أدناه من تواصل الفريق ومسؤوليته نظرًا لأنها توضح مكان كل مهمة في وقت معين ومن هو المسؤول عن ذلك.

للوصول إليها، قم بالتغيير من طريقة العرض البسيطة إلى طريقة عرض اللوحة. ستلاحظ أن جميع المهام (البطاقات الآن) موجودة في العمل المتراكم، مصحوبة بثلاثة أعمدة قياسية: للتنفيذ، قيد التقدم، ومكتملة. هذا هو سير العمل الذي يمكنك تغييره ليعكس بشكل أفضل عمليتك الداخلية. ما تحتاج إلى معرفته في هذه المرحلة هو أنه يمكنك تمرير كل مهمة من خلال كل خطوة من خطوات سير العمل (عمود لوحة كانبان) مع تقدم العمل عليها.

A Kanban board used by a web design team
لوحة كانبان التي يستخدمها فريق تصميم الويب

تلميح: قم بجدولة الفريق مقدمًا من خلال وحدة جدولة الفريق عبر تحديد من يجب أن يعمل في كل مهمة، إلى كم من الوقت، ومتى.

Team Scheduling module
وحدة جدولة الفريق

تذكر فقط أن تشرك فريقك في مرحلة التخطيط وأن تحصل على تعليقاتهم أيضًا. تتغير المشاريع، ولا يمكنك التعامل مع المشكلات غير المتوقعة إلا بمساعدة فريقك المتمرس.

يبدأ العمل الفعلي  

دعنا ننتقل إلى العمل الحقيقي. من المؤكد أن التخطيط أمر ضروري، لكن تنفيذ المشروع مهم بنفس القدر ويمكن أن يستغرق معظم الوقت الذي تقضيه في مشروع ما. يمكنك القول أن المشروع يبدأ للمرة الثانية. في هذه المرة، تحتاج إلى التركيز بشكل أكبر على متابعة المتطلبات عن كثب وتجنب الأخطاء إذا كنت ترغب في عملية تطوير سلسة للمشروع.

يوفر Paymo طرقًا مختلفة لإدارة مهامك، بدءًا من قوائم المهام البسيطة وقوائم المهام التفصيلية التي رأيناها من قبل، إلى لوحات Kanban الأكثر تعقيدًا أو وحدة جدولة الفريق.

أول شيء يجب عليك فعله عند بدء العمل هو التحقق مما هو قيد التشغيل لهذا اليوم. يمكن لجميع المشاركين في المشروع رؤية مهامهم ضمن منطقة المهام الخاصة بي من الوحدة النمطية الرئيسية:

Home screen to view all tasks youre in charge of
الشاشة الرئيسية لعرض جميع المهام المسؤول عنها أنت

لزيادة التركيز على المهام اليومية، قم بتجميعها تحت بارامترات محددة مثل الأولوية، أو تاريخ الاستحقاق.

يتلقى كل عضو في الفريق بريدًا إلكترونيًا وإشعارًا داخل التطبيق عند تعيينه في مهمة جديدة أو يحدث تغيير في أحد الأنشطة. ابحث عن أي إشعارات متبقية داخل التطبيق في الزاوية العلوية اليسرى من الشاشة وقم بتمييزها لتبقى مشرفاً على عملك.

in-app notifications

تعاون الفريق

تمامًا كما هو الحال مع عملائك، فإن الحفاظ على التعاون الفعال بين الفريقين هو المفتاح لتجنب سوء الفهم ومنع الأخطاء غير الضرورية التي تحتاج إلى مزيد من الوقت فقط لإصلاحها.

يتيح لك Paymo التعليق مباشرة في الوقت الحقيقي على المهام للحفاظ على التحديثات في السياق أو إنشاء مناقشات على مستوى المشروع، في حالة ما إذا كنت بحاجة إلى بدء سلسلة محادثات أو طرح الأفكار حول موضوع يهم الفريق بأكمله. ستتلقى أيضًا إشعارات فورية داخل التطبيق والبريد الإلكتروني (اعتمادًا على إعدادات مشروعك) عندما تتلقى تعليقًا جديدًا حتى لا تضطر إلى التحديق في لوحة المناقشة حتى يرد عليك شخص ما.

Comments on a task-level
اترك التعليقات على مستوى المهمة للحفاظ على المعلومات في السياق

هل انت قلق من فقدان ملفات مشروعك مع كثرة المهام الجارية في نفس الوقت؟

في Paymo، يمكن ربط الملفات المتعلقة بالمشروع بكل مهمة وحتى بالتعليقات. يمكنك أيضًا الاحتفاظ بها محدثة وتخزينها بأمان في منطقة الملفات المركزية للمشروع حيث يمكن لأعضاء فريقك الوصول إليها بسهولة.

هذا يجعل عددًا أقل من الزملاء يسألون عن مكان المستند أو يقضون وقتًا كبيرًا في البحث عن شعار تم إنشاؤه قبل خمسة أشهر.

Storing files
قم بتخزين الملفات على مستوى المشروع من أجل تنظيم أفضل

بفضل الدمج الأصلي لـ Google Drive لـ Paymo، يمكنك تحميل الملفات وتنزيلها مباشرة من محرك الأقراص. الفائدة من ذلك أنك ستحصل دائمًا على أحدث الإصدارات من هذه الملفات حتى تتمكن من تعديلها إذا لزم الأمر.

تتبع الوقت

نعم، اعرف. قد لا يحب أعضاء فريقك تتبع وقتهم، من يفعل؟ هذا هو السبب في عدم اعتبارها مهمة إلزامية. شاهد ذلك أكثر كأداة يمكن أن تساعد في تطوير مشاريعك الحالية والمستقبلية.

يمكن استخدام ساعات عمل التتبع للرجوع إليها في المستقبل لتقديم تقديرات دقيقة للوقت، أو التخطيط بشكل أفضل لجدول فريقك، أو تجنب الافراط أو تقليل عدد الموظفين، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر.

في Paymo، يمكنك إضافة إدخالات الوقت للمهام الفردية إما بشكل جماعي أو عن طريق متتبع الوقت داخل التطبيق:

Time tracker
تتيح لك أداة تعقب الوقت تسجيل الوقت المستغرق في العمل في كل مهمة

إذا كنت تفضل استخدام التطبيقات خارج متصفح الويب، فاستخدم أداة تتبع وقت سطح المكتب التي يمكن ربطها بشريط Mac، و Windows، و Linux إلى وقت الساعة أو إضافته يدويًا بشكل كلي أو بفترات زمنية:

Desktop widget
يتيح لك تطبيق سطح المكتب المصغر تتبع الوقت خارج متصفح الويب

يتم تخزين كل سجلات الوقت تلقائيًا في وحدة الجداول الزمنية التي توضح لك بالضبط عدد الساعات التي يقضيها أعضاء فريقك في يوم معين، أو أسبوع، أو شهر، أو فترة معينة.

A web design team members weekly timesheet
جدول زمني أسبوعي لأعضاء فريق تصميم الويب

يمكنك بعد ذلك تحويل الجداول الزمنية إلى تقارير زمنية. يمكن استخدام تقارير الوقت الثابت لتقدير الميزانية الزمنية للمشاريع القادمة بشكل أفضل، وإبقاء العملاء على اطلاع بالتحديثات عن حالة المشروع، والبقاء ضمن حدود الميزانية، وتوفير الوقت، وزيادة الإنتاجية، وتجنب الإفراط الكبير أو تحجيم فريقك.

A time report example
تقرير وقت مشروع تصميم الويب لمساعدتك في مراقبة نشاط فريقك

بصفتك قائدًا لمشروعك، يجب عليك تشجيع تتبع الوقت لكل مهمة تستغرق أكثر من 10 إلى 15 دقيقة لإكمالها أو إشراك العديد من أعضاء الفريق. وهذا يزيد من مسؤولية فريقك ويقدم الدليل في حالة قيام عملائك بالتساؤل عن عملك.

تلميح: يمكن لأعضاء الفريق التحقق من جدولهم الزمني في الوحدة النمطية "جدولة الفريق" أولاً لمعرفة عدد الساعات التي يجب عليهم تخصيصها لكل مهمة.

إذا كنت أحد هؤلاء الأشخاص الذين يجرون مهامًا متعددة على أساس منتظم، أو يعملون في مشروعات مختلفة في الوقت نفسه، أو ببساطة ينسون إيقاف برامج التتبع، فجرّب التعقب التلقائي للوقت. أدوات مثل PaymoPlus تتبع كل ثانية تقضيها في العمل في ملف، أو موقع ويب، أو تطبيق، أو علامة تبويب المتصفح. ما عليك سوى النقر على الزر تسجيل وستصبح جاهزًا تمامًا - الأداة هي التي تؤدي المهمة نيابةً عنك. في نهاية اليوم، اربط كل مرة يتم فيها الدخول إلى المهمة الموافقة أو قم بإعداد القواعد للقيام بذلك نيابةً عنك.

هل أنت فعال للغاية؟ ما عليك سوى استخدام تطبيقات تتبع الوقت للجوّال المتوفرة لنظامي التشغيل Android و iOS والتي تعمل بلا اتصال أيضًا، في حالة ما إذا كنت تزورعميلًا ولا تتوفر لديك إمكانية الوصول إلى الإنترنت. يمكن للمصممين أيضًا استخدام Adobe CC Integration لتتبع وقتهم مباشرة من أدوات Adobe المفضلة لديهم (InDesign  ،Photoshop، Illustrator، InCopy، و Premiere) مع رخصة 2017 أو أحدث أثناء العمل بالتوازي على مخططات التصميم الخاصة بهم.

Adobe CC integration
تكامل Adobe CC لاستخدامه داخل تطبيق Adobe المفضل لديك

 مراقبة التقدم والمشاركة

وبدون وجود أداة لإدارة المشروع، قد يتعين عليك البحث عن كتف كل عضو من الفريق للتحقق من حالته ومعرفة ما إذا كان يواجه أي مشاكل. 

البرنامج يتيح لك القيام بكل ذلك في العالم الافتراضي. داخليًا، يوفر Paymo عددًا من الطرق المرئية لرصد تقدم المشروع وأين يعمل فريقك بجد.

تقدم منطقة النظرة العامة على المشروع تقييم شامل لصحة المشروع من حيث ساعات العمل من إجمالي الميزانية، وعدد المهام المكتملة، والمعالم القادمة، والأحداث الأخيرة:

An overview of a web design project
نظرة عامة توضح الإحصاءات العامة لمشروع تصميم الويب

بعد ذلك، هناك عرض الجدول للمشروع الذي يقدم عرضًا مجدولًا لجميع مهام المشروع بالإضافة إلى تفاصيله. ومن المثير للاهتمام الانتباه إلى انه تم العمل من العمود الإجمالي الذي يعرض لك رسمًيا بيانياً دقيقاً حول الوقت الذي تم تتبعه مقابل ميزانية المهمة وما تبقى منها.

ربما أكثر ما يساعدك على مراقبة أفضل لعملياتك اليومية هو أداة مهام الفريق ضمن الوحدة الرئيسية. من خلال ذلك، يمكنك مشاهدة جميع المهام من جميع المشاريع المجمّعة حسب تاريخ الاستحقاق، أو الأولوية، أو المشاريع الموافقة:

Teams Tasks view
مهام الفريق: تعرض جميع المهام من جميع المشاريع المجمّعة حسب تاريخ الاستحقاق ،أو الأولوية، أو المشاريع المقوافقة

يمكن إضافة فلاتر إضافية لمزيد من التفاصيل. هناك أيضًا خيار لتصديرها في ثلاث طرق عرض مختلفة للمهام، أبرزها، Meta Kanban، التي تعيد توحيد جميع المهام من جميع المشاريع بتنسيق كانبان:

على المستوى الخارجي، يمكنك تقديم تقارير حالة مفصلة بشكل دوري إلى الزبون. يتيح لك Paymo إرسال إما تقارير ثابتة، للحصول على إحصاءات حول فترة زمنية محددة، أو تقارير مباشرة. تقدم هذه الأخيرة شفافية كاملة فيما يتعلق بكل مهمة والعمل الذي يمضي بها حيت يتم تحديثها باستمرار في كل مرة تقوم فيها أنت أو عميلك بالوصول إليها، لذلك لن تضطر لإرسال تقرير محدث عند طلب ذلك.

الفوترة

ما الذي تستخدمه الآن لفاتورة عملائك؟ بالمقارنة مع معظم أدوات إدارة المشاريع، يتيح لك Paymo أيضًا إنشاء فواتير مباشرة من سجلات الوقت، بحيث لا تحتاج إلى تصدير الجداول الزمنية أو البيانات الأخرى ذات الصلة بالمهام إلى أداة أخرى.

Invoice made using Paymo
فاتورة تحمل العلامة التجارية باستخدام Paymo

لإنشاء فاتورة، انتقل إلى وحدة المحاسبة وحدد الفواتير> إضافة فاتورة. من هنا، انقر على زر إضافة الوقت غير المدفوع / زر التكاليف لإضافة الوقت المسجل. هناك أيضًا إمكانية إضافة مهام، ومعدلات، ومصروفات بسعر موحد، ولكنها معلومات كافية في الوقت الحالي.

هناك أيضًا خيار لإرفاق تقرير ثابت بالفاتورة الفعلية، إذا كنت لا تريد إنشاء تقرير من الصفر.

في أي وقت، يمكنك تغيير البيانات الحالية أو الاختيار بين أكثر من 80 عملة لاعداد فاتورة عملائك، حتى يمكنك إضافة اثنين من معدلات الضرائب الإضافية.

بمجرد حفظها، قم بإرسال الفاتورة بالبريد الإلكتروني كمرفق PDF أو مشاركتها عبر الرابط الثابت في الأسفل. هل هو أفضل جزء؟ يمكنك معرفة ما إذا كان قد تم عرض فاتورة وتم دفعها بمساعدة العلامات التي تمت مشاهدتها والعلامة المدفوعة في الركن العلوي الأيسر من الفاتورة، لتجنب أي محادثات ذات صلة غريبة بالدفع:

بالنسبة إلى الدفعات المتكررة، ما عليك سوى إضافة الفواتير المتكررة التي سيرسلها النظام تلقائيًا إلى عميلك. سيؤدي ذلك إلى إنشاء مسار إلكتروني للورقة يتيح للعملاء معرفة أنه لا يزال يتعين عليهم إرسال الأموال إليك، مما يجعل من السهل تتبع الفواتير المتبقية.

استعراض المشروع

حسنًا، لقد انتهيت من جميع المهام، وراقبت تقدم الفريق، وأرسلت الفاتورة النهائية. مبروك! انتهيت من مشروعك. على الرغم من أن الشيء الذي يتخطاه العديد هو مرحلة استكمال المشروع.

يقدم مشروعك السابق بيانات ثمينة لعملك القادم. اعقد اجتماعًا نهائيًا مع فريقك لمناقشة الأمور التي سارت بشكل جيد، والتي ليست كذلك، وما الذي عليك تحسينه في المستقبل. يمكنك أيضًا إنشاء قائمة تحقق تتضمن جميع الخطوات التي قمت بتغطيتها حتى انتهاء المشروع بنجاح للتأكد من عدم تفويت أي شيء.

لذلك، أنشئ تقريرًا ثابتًا لترى بنية المشروع وكيفية تحقيق متطلبات المشروع والميزانية التقديرية. احتفظ بهذه السجلات واستخدمها كمقياس للمشروعات المستقبلية المشابهة.

لا تتعجل في إجراء هذه الفحوص النهائية الأخيرة إذا كنت ترغب في تحسين مشروعاتك، والطريقة التي تحدد بها المواعيد النهائية وساعات العمل، وكيفية جدولة مهام فريقك.

استنتاج

قم بمسح سريع عبرعملية تطوير المشروع وربما تلاحظ أن المشروع يدور حول:

  • التعاون الفعال،
  • التخطيط،
  • والمراقبة.

هذه هي الركائز الثلاث التي يمكنك تطبيقها على أي مشروع تصميم الويب لضمان نجاحه وجعل إدارته أقل من عمل روتيني مخيف وأكثر من نزهة في الحديقة.

لمزيد من الراحة في عملك، فكر في استخدام حل متكامل لإدارة العمل مثل Paymo لإدارة العمل والموارد والوقت والميزانية بدلاً من مجموعة كاملة من التطبيقات المختلفة. إن وجود منصة رقمية تقوم بجزء من العمل بدلاً عنك سيعطيك المزيد من الوقت للتركيز على المهام الحيوية ذات التأثير. كما يقدم أيضًا عرضًا كاملاً لسير العمل والمهام الخاصة بالفريق ويحتفظ بمسار بحثي لجميع الإجراءات، والملفات، والتعليقات داخل التطبيق للرجوع إليها في المستقبل.

نعود اليك الان. أخبرنا عن الإستراتيجية التي تستخدمها لإدارة مشاريع تصميم الويب الخاصة بك، والمشقات التي واجهتها، وكيف تعاملت معها.  

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. Project Management
Webdesign

How to Manage a Web Design Project with Paymo

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Sponsored Content

This sponsored post features a product relevant to our readers while meeting our editorial guidelines for being objective and educational.

Let’s get real and admit that managing a web design project can be complex and time draining. You’re handling several different tasks, team members, due dates, resources, and client expectations all at the same time.

This is why knowing what tools, methods, and hacks to use from the beginning can help you keep your project–and sanity levels–on the right track. A single project management solution can help put all that in order and save you time to focus more on the real workload.

I’m going to walk you through managing your first web design project in Paymo, a full-featured work management software that helps you seamlessly plan, track, and invoice your projects.

First things first. Let’s have a look at the things you should keep an eye on before you get to the actual work.

The Client Meeting

Start with an initial client meeting to map out all the current requirements and budgets. Get to know everything that’s important for your clients, what their objectives are, and what to avoid by all means.

Everything you discuss with your client should be documented to ensure transparency between both parts. For this, draft a business case in a Word or Google Docs file. You can then attach this file to the project in Paymo so you can refer to it any time and avoid leaving any vital aspects or client requirements out of the project execution.

Quoting

Besides requirements and other project details, the client is obviously interested in knowing how much the project will cost. Coming up with a quote for your client is not an easy job - especially if it’s your first time doing this.

In Paymo, there’s a hassle-free method that helps you create a realistic cost estimate. First, write down all project activities that need to be completed in the project’s Tasks area under the Simple View. For each activity, add a time budget and a rate as a reference point. This will serve as your temporary project for now.

temporary project

Next, click on the Convert to Estimate button to transform the temporary project into an estimate. The platform will automatically total all task budgets and estimated costs, so you don’t need to add them up again from scratch.

Convert to Estimate

You can also choose to display all tasks as a separate line item or group them by their corresponding task list. Once saved, you can share it with the client as part of a formal quote in two ways: through the permalink at the bottom of the estimate or as a printable PDF file.

share estimate with the client as part of a formal quote

The client will now have a rough idea of how much the project will cost and what exactly they’re paying for. What’s left is for the client to review it and either accept or refuse it. Having an ordered list in sight will make it easier for them to see if they failed to notice something important before.

Once the final quote is accepted, you can move on to the planning part when your temporary project becomes a real one.

Planning

Never start a project without having a plan to follow. A well-built one outlines all the aspects you need to understand and develop upon during project execution. Think of your project plan as a map that shows both your decisions and the risks that could cut your project short or postpone its end date.

It’s now time for you to revise the previously added tasks and better organize them based on their similarities into clearly detailed task lists. These help you guide multiple team members, deadlines, resources, and projects simultaneously.

Task list example
Task list example

For an accurate project plan, go back to the project’s Tasks area and assign users to each activity, along with due dates, priorities, and possible subtasks in case the task needs to be further broken down. Don’t forget to write concise task descriptions to clarify how tasks should be executed and prevent any misunderstandings.

To keep up with work throughout all project stages, establish a workflow for each project:

Example of a web design workflow
Example of a web design workflow

This can be done through Kanban boards that show you the status of each task and if there are any potential bottlenecks in the process. Visual boards like the one below will improve the team’s communication and accountability since they showcase where each task is at a given point in time and who’s in charge of it.

To access them, change from the Simple View to the Board view. You’ll notice that all tasks (now cards) reside in the backlog, accompanied by three standard columns: To Do, In Progress, and Complete. This is a workflow that you can change to better reflect your internal process. What you need to know at this point is that you can pass each task through every workflow step (Kanban board column) as work on it progresses.

A Kanban board used by a web design team
A Kanban board used by a web design team

Tip: Schedule out the team in advance through the Team Scheduling module by specifying who should work on each task, for how long, and when.

Team Scheduling module
Team Scheduling module to plan your team’s tasks in advance for different projects

Just remember to involve your team in the planning phase and get their feedback too. Projects do change, and you can only deal with unexpected problems with the help of your experienced team.

Actual Work Starts

Let’s move on to the real work. Sure, planning is a must, but project execution is just as important and can take up the majority of the time you spend on a project. You could say that the project begins for the second time. This time though, you need to focus more on closely following requirements and avoiding mistakes if you want a smooth project development process.

Paymo offers different ways of managing your tasks, from the simple to-do lists and detailed tasks lists we’ve seen before, to the more complex Kanban boards or the Team Scheduling module.

The first thing you should do when you start work is check what’s on roll for today. Everyone involved in the project can see their tasks under the My Tasks area from the Home module:

Home screen to view all tasks youre in charge of
Home screen to view all tasks you’re in charge of

For an increased focus on your daily tasks, group them after specific parameters like priority, or due date.

Each team member receives an email and an in-app notification whenever they’re assigned to a new task or a change occurs to an activity. Look for any remaining in-app notifications in the top-left corner of the screen and mark them off to stay on top of your work.

in-app notifications

Team Collaboration

Just like with your clients, maintaining efficient team collaboration is the key to avoiding misunderstandings and preventing unnecessary mistakes that would just need more time to be fixed.

Paymo lets you comment in real time directly on tasks to keep updates in context or create Discussions at a project-level, in case you need to start a thread or brainstorm a topic that concerns the whole team. You’ll also receive instant in-app and email notifications (depending on your project settings) whenever you get a new comment so you don’t have to stare at the discussion board until someone answers you.

Comments on a task-level
Leaving comments on a task-level to keep information in context

Worried about losing your project’s files with so many tasks going on at the same time?

In Paymo, project-related files can be attached to every task and even to comments. You can also keep them updated and store them securely in the project’s centralized Files area from where your team members can access them with ease.

This equals fewer colleagues asking where a document is or spending valuable time searching for a logo created five months ago.

Storing files
Storing files on a project-level for better organization

Thanks to Paymo’s native Google Drive integration, you can upload and download files directly from your drive. As a bonus, you’ll always have the latest versions of these files readily available so you can further edit them if required.

Time Tracking

Yes, I know. Your team members might not like tracking their time, who does? This is why you shouldn’t consider it a mandatory task. See it more as a tool that can help with the development of your current and future projects.

Tracking work hours can be used for future reference to make accurate time estimates, better plan your team’s schedule, avoid overbooking or underbooking employees, to name a few of the benefits.

In Paymo, you can add time entries for individual tasks either in bulk or via an in-app time tracker:

Time tracker
The time tracker widget lets you record time spent working on each task

If you prefer using apps outside of the web browser, use the desktop time tracking widget that can be docked into your Mac, Windows, and Linux bar to clock time or add it manually in bulk or intervals:

Desktop widget
The Desktop Widget allows you to track time outside of the web browser

All time logs are automatically stored in the Timesheets module which shows you exactly how many hours your team members spend on an a given day, week, month, or specific period.

A web design team members weekly timesheet
A web design team member’s weekly timesheet

You can then turn timesheets into time reports. Static Time Reports can be used to better estimate the time budget for your next projects, keep clients updated on the status of the project, stay within budget limits, save time, increase productivity, and avoid overbooking or underbooking your team.

A time report example
Web design project time report to help you monitor your team’s activity

As the leader of your project, you should encourage time tracking for every task that takes longer than 10-15 minutes to complete or involves several different team members. This increases your team’s accountability and will offer proof in case your clients ever question your work.

Tip: Team members can check their schedule in the Team Scheduling module first to know how many hours they should dedicate to each task.

If you’re one of those people who multitask on a regular basis, work on different projects at the same time, or simply forget to turn their trackers off, try automatic time tracking. Tools like PaymoPlus track every second spent working in a file, website, app, or browser tab. Just click the Record button and you’re all set - the tool does the job for you. At the end of the day,  associate each time entry to its corresponding task or set up rules to do it for you.

Always on the go? Just use the mobile time tracking apps available for Android and iOS that work offline too, in case you’re visiting a client and have no Internet access. Designers can also use the Adobe CC Integration to track their time directly from their favorite Adobe tools (InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, InCopy, and Premiere) with a 2017 or newer license while working in parallel on their design sketches.

Adobe CC integration
Adobe CC integration to use within your favorite Adobe app

Progress Monitoring & Sharing

Without a project management tool, you’d probably have to look over each team member’s shoulder to check on their status and see if they encounter any problems.

The software allows you to do all that in the virtual realm. Internally, Paymo provides a couple of visual ways of monitoring the project’s progress and where your team is struggling.

The project’s Overview area presents a project’s overall health in terms of the hours worked from the total budget, the number of completed tasks, upcoming milestones, and recent events:

An overview of a web design project
An overview showing a web design project’s overall stats

Then, there’s the project’s Table View that offers a tabular view of all the project’s tasks along with their details. Interesting to notice is the Worked from the total column that shows you a burndown graph of how much time was tracked against the task budget and what’s left.

Perhaps the view to help you the most in your day-to-day operations is Team’s Tasks under the Home module. Through it, you’re able to see all tasks from all projects grouped by due date, priority, or corresponding projects:

Teams Tasks view
Team’s Tasks: view all tasks from all projects grouped by due date, priority, or corresponding projects

Extra filters can be added for more granularity. There’s also the option to export it in three different task views of which the most notable one, the Meta Kanban, reunites all tasks from all projects in a Kanban format:

On an external level, you can periodically deliver detailed status reports to your client. Paymo allows you to send either Static Reports, for insights about a specific timespan, or Live Reports. The latter offer full transparency regarding each task and the work that goes into them as they are constantly updated every time you or your client access them, so you won’t have to send an updated report when asked for.

Invoicing

What are you using right now to invoice your clients? Compared to most project management tools, Paymo also allows you to create invoices straight out of your time records, so you don’t need to export your timesheets or other task-related data into another tool.

Invoice made using Paymo
Branded invoice made using Paymo

To create an invoice, go to the Accounting module and select Invoices > Add invoice. From here, click on the Add outstanding time/costs button to add the registered time. There’s also the possibility to add flat rate tasks, project, and expenses, but that’s enough info for now.

There’s also the option to attach a static report to the actual invoice, in case you don’t want to create one from scratch.

At any time, you can change the current data or choose between 80+ currencies to bill your clients in, even add two additional tax rates.

Once saved, email the invoice as a PDF attachment or share it via the permalink at the bottom. The best part? You can see if an invoice has been viewed and paid with the help of the Viewed and Paid tags in the top right corner of an invoice, to avoid any awkward payment-related conversations:

For repetitive payments, just add recurring invoices that the system will automatically send to your client. This will create an electronic paper trail that lets your clients know they still have to send you money, making it easy to follow which invoices are left outstanding.

Project Review

Alright, so you’ve finished all tasks, monitored the team’s progress, and sent the final invoice. Congrats! You’re done with your project. The thing though is that many skip the project completion stage.

Your past project offers valuable data and insight for your next work as well. Hold one final meeting with your team to discuss what went well, what didn’t, and what to improve in the future. You can also put together a checklist with all the steps you covered until the project’s successful ending to make sure you haven’t missed anything.

For this, create a Static Report to see the project’s structure and how you’ve achieved the project requirements and estimated budget. Keep these records and use them as a benchmark for similar future projects.

Don’t rush these last final checkups if you want to improve your projects, the way in which you estimate deadlines and work hours, and how you schedule your team’s tasks.

Conclusion

Quickly scan through the project development process and you’ll probably notice that a project is all about:

  • efficient collaboration,
  • planning,
  • and monitoring. 

These are the three pillars you can apply to any web design project to guarantee its success and make its management less of a gruesome chore and more of a walk in the park.

To further ease your work, consider using a complete work management solution like Paymo to manage your work, resources, time and budget, instead of a full range of different apps. Having a digital platform do part of the work in your place will give you more time to focus on the vital tasks with impact. It also offers a complete view of the team’s workflow and tasks and keep a paper trail of all in-app actions, files, and comments for future reference.

Back to you now. Let us know what strategy you’re using to manage your own web design projects, what struggles you’ve faced, and how you’ve dealt with them.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.