Unlimited Wordpress themes, plugins, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. HTML5
Webdesign

Info rapide : Utiliser l'attribut HTML5 "download"

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Strange and Unusual HTML.
Quick Tip: Don’t Forget the “optgroup” Element
All You Need to Know About the HTML5 Data Attribute

French (Français) translation by Thomas Triboult (you can also view the original English article)

Créer un lien de téléchargement en HTML est assez simple ; ajoutez une balise a et donnez le chemin d'accès au fichier dans l'attribut href. Cependant, certains types de fichiers (comme les images, les .pdf, .txt et .doc par exemple) ne seront pas téléchargés. Il seront ouvert par le navigateur.

Si vous avez accès au serveur de votre site il y a quelques astuces, comme configurer un .htaccess, vous permettant de télécharger directement ces fichiers. Si votre site est hébergé sur un service gratuit comme WordPress.com, Blogspot ou Github pages, qui ne vous permettent pas d'utiliser ces contournements, regardez du coté de l'attribut download.

Utiliser l'attribut "download"

L'attribut download fait partie de la spécification HTML5 et force un lien à être un lien de téléchargement plutot que de navigation.

L'attribut download vous permet aussi de renommer le fichier avant le téléchargement. Quand le fichier est sur le serveur, surtout s'il est généré automatiquement, il peut être nommé avec des nombres et des tirets, par exemple acme-doc-2.0.1.txt. Il serait mieux de fournir à l'utilisateur le fichier avec un nom plus explicite lors du téléchargement, comme Documentation Acme (ver. 2.0.1).txt (n'oubliez pas l'extension).

Voici à quoi cela ressemble :

Testez le sur la page de démonstration, et vous devriez télécharger le fichier avec le nom spécifié dans l'attribut download.

Quelques notes :

  • Firefox n'autorise que le téléchargement de fichier provenant du même serveur pour des raisons de sécurité. Le fichier doit provenir du même serveur ou nom de domaine, sinon il sera ouvert dans le navigateur.
  • Alors que Chrome et la dernière version d'Opera (avec Chromium/Blink) autorise le téléchargement des fichiers provenant de sources différentes, ils ignoreront la valeur de l'attribut. En d'autre mots, le nom de fichier sera inchangé.

Donner une alternative

Au moment où cet article a été écrit l'attribut download n'a pas été implémenté dans Safari et (comme on peut le penser) Internet Explorer. Ceci dit, selon le statut de la plateforme IE, c'est actuellement sur le haut de la pile de développement et comporte un grand nombre de votes.

Dans le même temps, il est possible d'ajouter une alternative, comme fournir des instructions supplémentaires sous le lien de téléchargement pour les navigateurs ne supportant pas cet attribut. Four ce faire, il faut télécharger Modernizr avec la fonctionnalité download incluse.

Configurer Modernizr.

Ensuite il faut ajouter le script suivant.

Ce script testera si le navigateur supporte l'attribut download ; sinon il ajoute une balise <div> contenant les instructions et une classe permettant de personnaliser l'affichage, et l'ajoute en dessous du lien utilisant l'attribut download.

Le texte apparait sur Safari.

Conclusion

L'attribut download rend les téléchargements plus accessibles aux personnes n'ayant pas accès à la configuration du serveur. J'ai hâte qu'Internet Explorer et Safari implementent l'attribut

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. HTML5
Webdesign

Quick Tip: Using the HTML5 “download” Attribute

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:QuickLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Strange and Unusual HTML.
Quick Tip: Don’t Forget the “optgroup” Element
All You Need to Know About the HTML5 Data Attribute

Creating a download link in HTML is straightforward; add an anchor tag and point to the file within the href attribute. Some file types, however, (such as images, .pdf, .txt, and .doc for example) won’t be downloaded. They, instead, will be opened in the browser.

If you have server-side access to your website there are some workarounds you can use, such as configuring the .htaccess, to download these files directly. If your site is hosted with a free service like WordPress.com, Blogspot, or perhaps Github pages which don’t allow you to do so, consider using the download attribute.

Using the “Download” Attribute

The download attribute is part of the HTML5 spec and expresses a link as download link rather than a navigational link.

The download attribute also allows you to rename the file name upon downloading. When the file resides on the server, especially if it’s been automatically generated, it may be named systematically with numbers and dashes, for example acme-doc-2.0.1.txt. It would be better for users to receive the file with a more sensible name when downloaded, perhaps like: Acme Documentation (ver. 2.0.1).txt (not forgetting the file extension).

Here’s how that would look in practice:

Give it a try on the demo page, and you should find the file downloaded with the name specified in the download attribute.

A Couple of Notes:

  • Firefox only allows users to download files of the same origin due to a security concern. The file must come from your own server or domain name, otherwise it will be opened in the browser.
  • While downloading cross-origin files is allowed in Chrome and the latest Opera (with Chromium/Blink), they will both ignore the attribute value. In other words, the file name will remain unchanged.

Providing Fallback

At the time of writing, the download attribute is not yet implemented in Safari and (as you might expect) Internet Explorer. Saying that, according to modern IE status, it is currently at the top of the development list and receiving a great deal of votes. 

In the meantime, we can add a decent fallback, such as providing extra instructions below the download link for non-supporting browsers. To do so, we will need to download Modernizr with the download feature test included.

Configure Modernizr build.

Then we can add the following script.

The script will test whether the browser supports the download attribute; if not it will append a new <div> with the class for styling purposes as well as the instruction text, and insert it immediately below any link which has been furnished with the download attribute.

The text instruction appears in Safari.

Wrapping Up

The download attribute makes handling download links very convenient for anyone who has no access to server-side configuration. I’m looking forward to Internet Explorer and Safari implementing the download attribute soon!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.