7 days of unlimited WordPress themes, plugins & graphics - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. WordPress

Wie man WordPress Social Media-Symbole hinzufügt

Read Time: 11 mins

German (Deutsch) translation by Tatsiana Bochkareva (you can also view the original English article)

Heutzutage sind soziale Medien eine der effektivsten Möglichkeiten, Ihre WordPress-Website zu vermarkten. Sie verdienen wertvolle Mundpropaganda, steigern Ihre SEO und helfen Ihnen, eine engere Beziehung zu Ihrem Publikum aufzubauen.

Warum ist es für Besucher schwierig, sich auf Facebook, Twitter, Instagram und allen wichtigen Social-Media-Plattformen mit Ihnen in Verbindung zu setzen?

Viele WordPress-Themes verfügen über integrierte Social-Media-Schaltflächen. Was ist jedoch, wenn Ihr bevorzugtes WordPress-Theme diese wichtige Funktion nicht bietet? Oder sind Sie mit der Gestaltung der integrierten Social-Sharing-Schaltflächen nicht zufrieden und möchten sie durch Symbole ersetzen, die nicht mit dem Rest Ihrer Website in Konflikt stehen?

In diesem Tutorial zeige ich Ihnen, wie Sie Ihrer WordPress-Website wichtige Funktionen für soziale Medien hinzufügen. Am Ende dieses Artikels haben Sie es den Besuchern leicht gemacht, Ihnen in allen wichtigen sozialen Netzwerken zu folgen, indem Sie Symbole hinzugefügt haben, die auf die Social-Media-Profile Ihrer Website verweisen.

Sie möchten Sie nicht nur in den sozialen Medien verfolgen, sondern auch dazu ermutigen, Ihren neuesten Blog-Beitrag mit ihren Freunden und Ihrer Familie zu teilen. Dadurch erhalten Sie möglicherweise Hunderte zusätzlicher Click-throughs und Kommentare und können diesen wichtigen Social-Media-Buzz generieren. Um Ihnen zu helfen, die Vorteile von Social Sharing zu nutzen, zeige ich Ihnen auch, wie Sie Ihrer Website Social Sharing-Symbole hinzufügen, einschließlich einer schwebenden Leiste, die den Besuchern beim Scrollen auf und ab des Bildschirms folgt und sicherstellt, dass Ihre Social Sharing-Schaltflächen immer vorhanden sind in der Nähe.

Bietet Ihr Thema bereits ein soziales Menü?

Sind Ihrer Website Social-Media-Profile zugeordnet? Vielleicht haben Sie ein Twitter oder Instagram erstellt, auf dem Sie Ihre neuesten Blog-Beiträge teilen, oder Sie möchten einen Link zu Ihrem persönlichen Twitter einfügen, damit Ihr Publikum die Person hinter der Website kennenlernen kann?

In diesem Abschnitt werde ich verschiedene Möglichkeiten behandeln, wie Sie von Ihrer Website aus auf Ihre Social-Media-Profile verlinken können. Diese Social-Media-Links werden normalerweise als Symbole dargestellt. Im folgenden Screenshot habe ich beispielsweise Links zu meinen Twitter-, Facebook- und Instagram-Profilen hinzugefügt.

Many WordPress themes provide a social links menuMany WordPress themes provide a social links menuMany WordPress themes provide a social links menu

Wenn jemand auf eines dieser Symbole klickt, wird er zum zugehörigen Social-Media-Profil weitergeleitet - ideal, um einmalige Besucher zu treuen Followern zu machen!

Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, wie Sie Ihrer Website soziale Symbole hinzufügen können. Eine der einfachsten Möglichkeiten besteht jedoch darin, ein Thema zu verwenden, das ein vorgefertigtes Menü für soziale Links enthält. Wenn Sie sich nicht sicher sind, ob Ihr aktuelles WordPress-Thema die Funktion für soziale Links unterstützt, gehen Sie zum Themes Showcase, in dem eine Liste der für soziale Medien versierten WordPress-Themen angezeigt wird.

Obwohl das Menü für soziale Links eine der einfachsten Möglichkeiten ist, Ihre Social-Media-Konten zu bewerben, unterstützt jedes Thema eine Reihe von Symbolen, die Sie nicht anpassen können. Wenn Sie die Symbole Ihres Themas nicht mögen, müssen Sie entweder zu einem anderen Thema wechseln oder eine der in diesem Lernprogramm beschriebenen alternativen Methoden verwenden.

Wie man das Menü für soziale Links aktiviert:

  • Melden Sie sich bei Ihrem WordPress-Konto an, falls Sie dies noch nicht getan haben.
  • Wählen Sie im linken WordPress-Menü Darstellung > Anpassen.
  • Wählen Sie Menüs > Neues Menü erstellen.
  • Geben Sie Ihrem Menü einen beschreibenden Namen.
  • Aktivieren Sie das Kontrollkästchen Menü Soziale Links und klicken Sie auf Weiter.
Select the Social links Menu checkboxSelect the Social links Menu checkboxSelect the Social links Menu checkbox

Um das erste Symbol zu Ihrem Menü hinzuzufügen, klicken Sie auf Elemente hinzufügen und dann auf, um den Abschnitt Benutzerdefinierte Links zu erweitern.

Click to expand the Custom Links sectionClick to expand the Custom Links sectionClick to expand the Custom Links section

Geben Sie im Feld URL die Adresse Ihres Social-Media-Profils ein, z. B. https://www.facebook.com/MyWebsite oder https://twitter.com/JessicaThornsby.

Wenn Sie mit den eingegebenen Informationen zufrieden sind, klicken Sie auf Zum Menü hinzufügen. Spülen und wiederholen Sie für jedes Social-Media-Profil, das Sie in Ihr Menü aufnehmen möchten. Nachdem Sie alle Ihre Social Media-Profile hinzugefügt haben, können Sie dieses Menü durch Klicken auf Veröffentlichen aktivieren.

Gehen Sie zu einer beliebigen Seite Ihrer Website. Alle Ihre Social-Media-Profile sollten jetzt als Teil eines neuen Menüs angezeigt werden.

Wie man Ihr eigenes Menü für soziale Links erstellt

Wenn Ihr Thema kein Menü für soziale Links enthält und das Ändern Ihres Themas keine Option ist, können Sie alternativ ein Plugin verwenden. In diesem Abschnitt werde ich Ihnen zeigen, wie Sie mit dem Widget für soziale Symbole jedem Widget-Bereich soziale Schaltflächen hinzufügen.

Create your own social links menuCreate your own social links menuCreate your own social links menu

So richten Sie dieses kostenlose WordPress-Plugin ein:

  • Melden Sie sich bei Ihrem WordPress-Konto an, falls Sie dies noch nicht getan haben.
  • Wählen Sie im linken Menü Plugins > Add New.
  • Beginnen Sie in der Suchleiste mit der Eingabe des Social Icons Widget von WPZOOM. Wenn das richtige Plugin angezeigt wird, klicken Sie auf die zugehörige Schaltfläche Jetzt installieren.
  • Wenn die Schaltfläche Aktivieren angezeigt wird, klicken Sie darauf.

Ihr Plugin ist jetzt einsatzbereit! Verwenden Sie es, um einige Links zu unseren Social-Media-Profilen zu erstellen:

  • Wählen Sie im linken WordPress-Menü Darstellung > Anpassen.
  • Wählen Sie im linken Menü Widgets aus.
  • Wählen Sie den Widget-Bereich aus, in dem Sie Ihre sozialen Symbole anzeigen möchten, z.B. Blog-Seitenleiste oder Fußzeile 1.
  • Wählen Sie Widget hinzufügen.
You can add social media icons to any widget area that doesnt already contain widgetsYou can add social media icons to any widget area that doesnt already contain widgetsYou can add social media icons to any widget area that doesnt already contain widgets

Beginnen Sie im Abschnitt Such-Widgets mit der Eingabe von Social-Symbolen nach WPZoom und wählen Sie das Plugin aus, wenn es angezeigt wird. Geben Sie unter Titel einen beliebigen Titeltext ein, den Sie fett über allen Ihren sozialen Symbolen anzeigen möchten, z.B. Folgen Sie uns in den sozialen Medien!

Im Abschnitt Text über Symbolen können Sie optionalen Text hinzufügen, der über Ihren Social Media-Symbolen angezeigt wird. Dies wird im Stil einer Unterüberschrift gerendert, die unter jedem Titeltext angezeigt wird, den Sie dem Widget-Bereich hinzufügen.

Sie haben jetzt die Möglichkeit, Symbolbeschriftungen anzuzeigen. Wenn Sie zum Abschnitt Symbole unten in diesem Menü scrollen, finden Sie die Standardbezeichnung für jedes soziale Netzwerk und können sie bei Bedarf anpassen. Während Sie hier sind, können Sie auch entscheiden, welche Social Media-Konten Sie in Ihr Menü aufnehmen möchten.

Um ein soziales Netzwerk hinzuzufügen, klicken Sie auf Weitere hinzufügen und geben Sie die URL für eines Ihrer Social Media-Konten ein, z.B. https://www.instagram.com/mywebsite oder https://www.pinterest.co.uk/example. Das Plugin sollte das Netzwerk anhand der URL identifizieren und automatisch das richtige Symbol anzeigen.

Add the URL for each of your social media profilesAdd the URL for each of your social media profilesAdd the URL for each of your social media profiles

Wählen Sie aus, ob durch Klicken auf eines Ihrer sozialen Symbole eine neue Registerkarte geöffnet werden soll oder ob der Link auf der aktuellen Registerkarte geöffnet wird. Sie können jetzt Ihre Symbole formatieren.

Die meisten dieser Optionen sind ziemlich selbsterklärend. Sie können beispielsweise über das Dropdown-Menü Symbolausrichtung auswählen, wo diese Symbole im ausgewählten Bereich angezeigt werden sollen und ob Ihre Schaltflächen ein buntes Symbol ohne Hintergrund oder ein weißes Symbol mit buntem Hintergrund enthalten sollen. Es lohnt sich, diese Einstellungen im Detail zu untersuchen, da Sie einige interessante und einzigartige Effekte erzielen können.

Wenn Sie mit Ihrer Konfiguration zufrieden sind, klicken Sie auf Anwenden. Links zu all Ihren Social Media-Profilen werden Ihrer Website hinzugefügt.

Generieren eines Social Media Buzz mit Simple Share

Ihre Social-Media-Konten sind ein leistungsstarkes Tool zur Bewerbung Ihrer Website. Sie können jedoch ein noch breiteres Publikum erreichen, indem Sie Besucher dazu ermutigen, Ihre Inhalte über ihre eigenen Social-Media-Konten zu teilen.

Social Sharing kann Ihre Website nicht nur einem völlig neuen Publikum vorstellen, sondern es ist auch wahrscheinlicher, dass Nutzer auf Inhalte achten, die von Dritten organisch geteilt werden, als auf die Person, die diese Inhalte erstellt hat. Wenn Sie das Teilen Ihrer Inhalte vereinfachen, stellen Sie möglicherweise fest, dass ein Teil des Datenverkehrs Ihrer Website von Dritten stammt!

Durch Hinzufügen von Social-Sharing-Schaltflächen zu Ihrer Website können Sie Besuchern ermöglichen, Ihre Inhalte mit nur wenigen Klicks zu teilen. In diesem Abschnitt füge ich meiner Website diese schnellen und praktischen Schaltflächen zum Teilen von sozialen Netzwerken mithilfe des Simple Share Buttons Adder hinzu.

Mit diesem kostenlosen Plugin können Sie genau auswählen, wo Ihre Social-Sharing-Schaltflächen angezeigt werden. Sie können diese Schaltflächen beispielsweise auf bestimmte Webseiten beschränken oder sie in die Mitte Ihrer Blog-Beiträge einbetten, damit Besucher nicht zum Ende der Seite scrollen müssen, um Ihre Inhalte zu teilen.

Sie können sogar festlegen, dass die Schaltflächen zum Teilen von sozialen Netzwerken auf bestimmten Webseiten ausgeblendet werden. Dies kann hilfreich sein, wenn Sie Ihre Website durch die Einrichtung eines Amazon-Affiliate-Stores monetarisiert haben. Besucher möchten jedoch lieber den einzigartigen Inhalt Ihrer Website als die Produkte von Amazon teilen.

In diesem Abschnitt werde ich Ihnen zeigen, wie Sie den Adder für einfache Freigabeschaltflächen einrichten und anschließend eine Reihe von Schaltflächen für soziale Freigaben erstellen.

You can use the Simple Share Buttons Adder plugin to create a row of social sharing buttonsYou can use the Simple Share Buttons Adder plugin to create a row of social sharing buttonsYou can use the Simple Share Buttons Adder plugin to create a row of social sharing buttons

Nachdem wir diese einfache Zeile erstellt haben, werde ich einige andere Möglichkeiten untersuchen, wie Sie diese Schaltflächen anzeigen können, z. B. sie mithilfe eines Shortcodes in Ihren Inhalt einbetten oder sie in eine schwebende Freigabeleiste umwandeln.

So erstellen Sie eine Reihe von Freigabeschaltflächen:

Wählen Sie im linken WordPress-Menü Plugins > Add New. Suchen Sie nach dem Plugin Simple Share Buttons Adder und wählen Sie Jetzt installieren, wenn es angezeigt wird. Wenn Sie dazu aufgefordert werden, klicken Sie auf Aktivieren. Wählen Sie im linken WordPress-Menü Einstellungen > Einfache Freigabeschaltflächen.

Sie können jetzt per Drag & Drop eine Aufstellung aller Ihrer bevorzugten sozialen Netzwerke erstellen.

Jetzt müssen Sie genau festlegen, wo diese Schaltflächen auf Ihrer Website angezeigt werden sollen. Mit den Schiebereglern können Sie diese Schaltflächen auf bestimmte Inhaltskategorien beschränken, z.B. Seiten, Beiträge und die Startseite. Alternativ können Sie schneller festlegen, wo diese Schaltflächen nicht angezeigt werden sollen, indem Sie den Namen jeder Seite in das Feld Auf diesen Seiten ausblenden eingeben.

Specify where your social share buttons should and shouldnt appearSpecify where your social share buttons should and shouldnt appearSpecify where your social share buttons should and shouldnt appear

Simple Share Buttons Adder bietet Ihnen viele verschiedene Möglichkeiten, Ihre Freigabeschaltflächen zu gestalten. Klicken Sie also auf, um den Abschnitt Styling zu erweitern und einige Zeit mit den verfügbaren Optionen zu verbringen. Während Sie mit diesen Einstellungen experimentieren, zeigt WordPress eine Live-Vorschau an, sodass Sie überwachen können, wie diese Schaltflächen eventuell auf Ihrer Website angezeigt werden.

An dieser Stelle möchten Sie möglicherweise auch einen Live-Zähler hinzufügen, der anzeigt, wie oft dieser bestimmte Inhalt über soziale Medien geteilt wurde. Um einen Live-Zähler hinzuzufügen, erweitern Sie den Abschnitt Zähler und ziehen Sie den Schieberegler für die Anzahl der Freigaben in die Position Ein.

You can display an optional Share Counter that keeps track of how many times this content has been sharedYou can display an optional Share Counter that keeps track of how many times this content has been sharedYou can display an optional Share Counter that keeps track of how many times this content has been shared

Wenn Sie mit Ihren Einstellungen zufrieden sind, klicken Sie auf das Retro-Diskettensymbol.

Ihre ausgewählten Social-Sharing-Schaltflächen werden jetzt auf Ihrer Website angezeigt. Wenn Sie auf eine dieser Schaltflächen klicken, wird automatisch ein Popup geöffnet, das alle Informationen enthält, die Sie zum Posten dieses Inhalts auf der von Ihnen ausgewählten Social Media-Plattform benötigen.

Betten Sie Social Sharing-Schaltflächen überall auf Ihrer Website ein

Sobald Sie Ihre Social-Sharing-Schaltflächen eingerichtet haben, können Sie sie mithilfe des automatisch generierten Shortcodes an einem beliebigen Ort einbetten. Sie können beispielsweise Besucher dazu ermutigen, Ihren Blog-Beitrag zu teilen, indem Sie Ihre Freigabeschaltflächen unmittelbar nach dem überzeugendsten Absatz Ihres Blogs anzeigen.

Use the shortcode to embed these social buttons anywhere on your websiteUse the shortcode to embed these social buttons anywhere on your websiteUse the shortcode to embed these social buttons anywhere on your website

So binden Sie Ihre Schaltflächen zum Teilen von sozialen Medien an einer beliebigen Stelle auf Ihrer Website ein:

  • Wählen Sie im linken Menü von WordPress Einstellungen >  Einfache Freigabeschaltflächen.
  • Scrollen Sie zum Abschnitt Shortcode und klicken Sie zum Erweitern. Dies sollte einen Shortcode anzeigen.
  • Klicken Sie auf die zugehörige Schaltfläche Kopieren des Shortcodes.
  • Navigieren Sie zu der Seite, dem Beitrag oder einem anderen Element, auf dem Sie Ihre Freigabeschaltflächen anzeigen möchten, und öffnen Sie dieses Element zur Bearbeitung.
  • Suchen Sie den genauen Ort, an dem Sie diese Schaltflächen anzeigen möchten, und fügen Sie den Shortcode in diesen Abschnitt ein.

Ihre Social-Sharing-Schaltflächen werden jetzt genau an dieser Stelle angezeigt.

Erstellen Sie eine schwebende Freigabeleiste

Sie können Besucher dazu ermutigen, Ihre Inhalte zu teilen, indem Sie sicherstellen, dass Ihre Schaltflächen zum Teilen in sozialen Netzwerken immer leicht erreichbar sind. Mit diesem Plugin können Sie eine schwebende Freigabeleiste erstellen, die den Besuchern beim Scrollen auf der Seite folgt.

A floating social share bar will follow the visitor as they scroll up and down the screenA floating social share bar will follow the visitor as they scroll up and down the screenA floating social share bar will follow the visitor as they scroll up and down the screen

So erstellen Sie diese schwebende Leiste:

  • Navigieren Sie zu Einstellungen > Social Share-Schaltflächen.
  • Wählen Sie die Registerkarte Freigabeleiste.
  • Suchen Sie den Schieberegler für die Freigabeleiste und schieben Sie ihn in die Position Ein.

Sie können Ihre Freigabeleiste jetzt genauso konfigurieren, wie Sie Ihre ursprünglichen Schaltflächen für die Freigabe von sozialen Netzwerken konfiguriert haben.

Abschluss

In diesem Tutorial habe ich Ihnen gezeigt, wie Sie Besucher dazu ermutigen können, Ihnen in allen wichtigen sozialen Netzwerken zu folgen und Ihre Inhalte über ihre eigenen Social-Media-Konten zu teilen. Ich habe auch eine Reihe von Möglichkeiten behandelt, wie Sie die Standardschaltflächen für soziale Medien anpassen können, basierend auf dem Erscheinungsbild Ihrer Website und wie Sie ändern können, wo diese Symbole angezeigt werden.

Haben Sie Tricks oder Tipps, um Menschen zu ermutigen, in sozialen Medien mit Ihnen zu interagieren? Oder ein beliebtes Social-Media-Plugin, das wir nicht erwähnt haben? Lass es uns in den Kommentaren unten wissen!

Die besten WordPress-Themes und Plugins auf dem Envato Market

Entdecken Sie Tausende der besten WordPress-Themes, die jemals auf ThemeForest erstellt wurden, und die führenden WordPress-Plugins auf CodeCanyon. Kaufen Sie diese hochwertigen WordPress-Themes und -Plugins und verbessern Sie Ihr Website-Erlebnis für Sie und Ihre Besucher.

Hier sind einige der meistverkauften und aufstrebenden WordPress-Themes und Plugins für 2020.

  • Inspiration
    Die 15+ besten WordPress-Portfolio-Themen für Künstler
    Brenda Barron
  • WordPress
    Die 17 besten WordPress Slider und Carousel Plugins von 2020
    Daniel Strongin
  • WordPress
    Die 20 besten WordPress-Kalender-Plugins und Widgets
    Daniel Strongin
  • WordPress-Themes
    Die23+ besten responsiven WordPress Themes (Für Websites im Jahr 2020)
    Brenda Barron
  • WordPress
    Die 24 besten WPBakery Page Builder (Visual Composer) Addons und Plugins von 2020
    Daniel Strongin
  • WordPress-Themes
    Die 20+ besten Coaching und Consulting WordPress Themes (2020)
    Brenda Barron
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Web Design tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Scroll to top
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Web Design
  2. WordPress
Webdesign

How to Add Social Media Icons to WordPress

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

Today, social media is one of the most effective ways to market your WordPress website, earning you invaluable word-of-mouth promotion, boosting your SEO, and helping you build a closer relationship with your audience.

So why make it difficult for visitors to connect with you on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and all of the major social media platforms? 

Many WordPress themes come with built-in social media buttons, but what if your favourite WordPress theme doesn’t provide this essential feature? Or perhaps you’re not happy with how the built-in social sharing buttons are styled, and want to replace them with icons that don’t clash with the rest of your website?

In this tutorial, I’ll show you how to add essential social media features to your WordPress website. By the end of this article, you’ll have made it easy for visitors to follow you across all the major social networks, by adding icons that link through to your website’s social media profiles. 

In addition to following you on social media, you’ll want to encourage visitors to share your latest blog post with their friends and family, potentially earning you hundreds of extra click-throughs and comments and generating that all-important social media buzz. To help you reap the benefits of social sharing, I’ll also show you how to add social sharing icons to your website, including a floating bar that follows visitors as they scroll up and down the screen, ensuring that your social sharing buttons are always within easy reach.

Does Your Theme Already Provide a Social Menu?

Are there any social media profiles associated with your website? Perhaps you’ve created a Twitter or Instagram where you share your latest blog posts, or maybe you want to include a link to your personal Twitter, so your audience can get to know the person behind the website?

In this section, I’ll be covering various ways that you can link to your social media profiles from your website. These social media links are typically represented as icons—for example, in the following screenshot, I’ve added links to my Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram profiles.

Many WordPress themes provide a social links menu

Whenever someone clicks any of these icons, they’ll be taken to the associated social media profile—perfect for turning one-off visitors into loyal followers!

There are several ways that you can add social icons to your website, but one of the easiest is to use a theme that provides a ready-made social links menu. If you’re unsure whether your current WordPress theme supports the social links feature, then head over to the Themes Showcase, which displays a list of social media-savvy WordPress themes.

Although the social links menu is one of the easiest ways to promote your social media accounts, each theme supports a specific set of icons, which you cannot customize. If you’re not a fan of your theme’s icons, then you’ll either need to switch to a different theme or use one of the alternative methods covered in this tutorial. 

To activate the social links menu:

  • Log in to your WordPress account, if you haven’t already.
  • In WordPress’s left-hand menu, select Appearance > Customize.
  • Select Menus > Create New Menu.
  • Give your menu a descriptive name.
  • Select the Social Links Menu checkbox, and then click Next.
Select the Social links Menu checkbox

To add the first icon to your menu, click Add Items, and then click to expand the Custom Links section.

Click to expand the Custom Links section

In the URL field, type the address of your social media profile, for example https://www.facebook.com/MyWebsite or https://twitter.com/JessicaThornsby.

When you’re happy with the information you’ve entered, click Add to Menu. Rinse and repeat for every social media profile that you want to include in your menu. Once you’ve added all your social media profiles, you’re ready to make this menu live, by clicking Publish.

Head over to any page of your website—all of your social media profiles should now be displayed as part of a new menu. 

How to Create Your Own Social Links Menu

If your theme doesn’t provide a social links menu, and changing your theme isn’t an option, then one alternative is to use a plugin. In this section, I’ll show you how to use Social Icons Widget to add social buttons to any widget area. 

Create your own social links menu

To set up this free WordPress plugin: 

  • Log in to your WordPress account, if you haven’t already.
  • In the left-hand menu, select Plugins > Add New.
  • In the Search bar, start typing Social Icons Widget by WPZOOM. When the correct plugin appears, click its accompanying Install Now button. 
  • When the Activate button appears, give it a click. 

Your plugin is now ready to go! Let’s use it to create some links to our social media profiles: 

  • In WordPress’s left-hand menu, select Appearance > Customize.
  • In the left-hand menu, select Widgets.
  • Select the widget area where you want to display your social icons, for example Blog Sidebar or Footer 1.
  • Select Add a Widget.
You can add social media icons to any widget area that doesnt already contain widgets

In the Search widgets section, start typing Social icons by WPZoom and then select the plugin when it appears. In Title, enter any title text that you want to display, in bold, above all of your social icons, for example Follow us on social media!

In the Text above icons section, you can add some optional text that’ll appear above your social media icons. This is rendered in the style of a subheading, which will appear below any Title text that you add to the widget area. 

You now have the option to Show icon labels. If you scroll to the Icons section towards the bottom of this menu, then you’ll find the default label for each social network and can customize it if required. While you’re here, you can also decide which social media accounts you want to include in your menu.

To add a social network, click Add more and then enter the URL for one of your social media accounts, such as https://www.instagram.com/mywebsite or https://www.pinterest.co.uk/example. The plugin should identify the network based on the URL and display the correct icon automatically. 

Add the URL for each of your social media profiles

Choose whether clicking one of your social icons should launch a new tab, or whether the link will be opened in the current tab. You can now style your icons. 

Most of these options are fairly self-explanatory. For example, you can use the Icons Alignment dropdown to choose where these icons appear within the selected area, and whether your buttons should feature a colourful icon with no background or a white icon with a colourful background. It’s worth exploring these settings in detail, as you can create some interesting and unique effects.

When you’re happy with your configuration, click Apply, and links to all of your social media profiles will be added to your website. 

Generating a Social Media Buzz With Simple Share

Your social media accounts are a powerful tool for promoting your website. However, you can reach an even wider audience by encouraging visitors to share your content via their own social media accounts. 

Not only can social sharing introduce your website to an entirely new audience, but people are more likely to pay attention to content that’s shared organically by a third party, rather than by the person who created that content. If you make it easy to share your content, then you may find that a chunk of your website’s traffic comes from third parties!

By adding social sharing buttons to your website, you can allow visitors to share your content with just a few clicks. In this section, I’ll be adding these quick and convenient social sharing buttons to my website, using Simple Share Buttons Adder.

This free plugin allows you to choose exactly where your social sharing buttons appear. For example, you might restrict these buttons to specific webpages, or embed them in the middle of your blog posts so visitors don’t have to scroll to the very bottom of the page in order to share your content. 

You could even choose to hide the social sharing buttons on certain webpages, which might be handy if you’ve monetized your website by creating an Amazon affiliate store, but would prefer visitors to share your website’s unique content, rather than Amazon’s products.

In this section, I’ll show you how to set up Simple Share Buttons Adder and then use it to create a row of social share buttons. 

You can use the Simple Share Buttons Adder plugin to create a row of social sharing buttons

After we’ve created this simple row, I’ll be exploring some other ways that you can display these buttons, such as embedding them in your content using a shortcode or transforming them into a floating share bar.

To create a row of share buttons:

In WordPress’s left-hand menu, select Plugins > Add New. Search for the Simple Share Buttons Adder plugin, and when it appears, select Install Now. When prompted, click Activate. In WordPress’s left-hand menu, select Settings > Simple Share Buttons.

You can now create a lineup of all your favourite social networks, using drag and drop.

Now it’s time to specify exactly where these buttons should appear on your website. You can use the sliders to restrict these buttons to specific categories of content, such as Pages, Posts, and the Homepage. Alternatively, it may be quicker to specify where these buttons shouldn’t appear, by typing the name of each page into the Hide On These Pages field.

Specify where your social share buttons should and shouldnt appear

Simple Share Buttons Adder gives you lots of different ways to style your sharing buttons, so click to expand the Styling section and spend some time exploring the available options. As you experiment with these settings, WordPress will display a live preview, so you can monitor how these buttons will eventually appear on your website.

At this point, you may also want to add a live counter, which will display how many times this particular piece of content has been shared via social media. To add a live counter, click to expand the Counters section and then drag the Share Count slider into the On position. 

You can display an optional Share Counter that keeps track of how many times this content has been shared

When you’re happy with your settings, click the retro floppy-disc icon. 

Your chosen social sharing buttons will now appear on your website. If you click any of these buttons, then it’ll automatically launch a popup that contains all the information you need to post this content to your chosen social media platform.

Embed Social Sharing Buttons Anywhere on Your Website

Alternatively, once you’ve set up your social sharing buttons, you can embed them in any location, using the automatically generated shortcode. For example, you could encourage visitors to share your blog post, by displaying your sharing buttons immediately after your blog’s most compelling paragraph.

Use the shortcode to embed these social buttons anywhere on your website

To embed your social media sharing buttons anywhere on your website:

  • In WordPress’s left-hand menu, select Settings > Simple Share Buttons.
  • Scroll to the Shortcode section, and click to expand. This should reveal a shortcode.
  • Click the shortcode’s accompanying Copy button. 
  • Navigate to the page, post, or any other item where you want to display your sharing buttons, and open that item for editing. 
  • Find the exact location where you want to display these buttons, and paste the shortcode into this section.

Your social sharing buttons will now appear at this exact location.

Create a Floating Sharing Bar 

You can encourage visitors to share your content, by ensuring that your social sharing buttons are always within easy reach. Using this plugin, it’s possible to create a floating sharing bar, which will follow visitors as they scroll around the page.

A floating social share bar will follow the visitor as they scroll up and down the screen

To create this floating bar:

  • Navigate to Settings > Social Share Buttons.
  • Select the Share Bar tab.
  • Find the Share Bar slider and push it into the On position.

You can now configure your share bar in exactly the same way you configured your original social sharing buttons. 

Conclusion 

In this tutorial, I showed you how to encourage visitors to follow you across all the major social networks and share your content via their own social media accounts. I also covered a number of ways that you can customize the default social media buttons, based on the look and feel of your website, and how to change where these icons are displayed. 

Do you have any tricks or tips for encouraging people to interact with you on social media? Or a favourite social media plugin that we didn’t mention? Let us know in the comments below! 

The Best WordPress Themes and Plugins on Envato Market

Explore thousands of the best WordPress themes ever created on ThemeForest and leading WordPress plugins on CodeCanyon. Purchase these high-quality WordPress themes and plugins and improve your website experience for you and your visitors. 

Here are a few of the best-selling and up-and-coming WordPress themes and plugins available for 2020.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.